We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of charm and quirkiness- a must visit!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Usk Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Northants, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full of charm and quirkiness- a must visit!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2006

My husband planned a surprise weekend away to the lighthouse and it was fabulous! From the magical, mystery tour of a driveway to the blissful massage on arrival. From the delicious local restaurants (Junction 28 and The Elm Tree come highly recommended) to the relaxing midnight hot tub (newly installed in the last 5 weeks and very clean and powerful!) which took in the night lights of Wales - I cannot fault our visit at all!

Our bedroom was 'snug' (as had been advised) with a lovely four poster bed and spectacular views. It had a roomy bathroom and all was clean and tidy and full of an eclectic charm that is rarely seen in the pristine, generic hotels and B&B's that have become the norm. The owner Frank and his side-kick Sparky ,were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay as perfect as possible and Frank's incredible breakfasts deserve a mention alone!

The website of the hotel which I have perused on our return did not profess at any time to be 'luxurious' as seems to have been expected by the other reviewers but instead 'quaint' and 'a touch ramshackle'. In fact had it been any different it would have lost the individuality and the charm which made it a fascinating and highly recommended place to stay!Go Go Go!!!

Miriam Ross

  • Liked — Totally different and quirky! A one off B&B!
  • Disliked — Leaving to come home!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Quite hard to locate initially - write directions down as given by owner - don't rely on AutoRoute!!
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    36
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
35
199
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Having looked at the website for this property it promised to be quite unique, which of course as the property itself goes is true. However, the driveway to the house is bumpy, to say the least and could do some serious damage to your vehicle if you're not careful. Upon entering the house, you are not struck by luxury, quite the opposite in fact, its rather shabby and tired inside, and is quite disappointing. The bed linen was clean and there was tea/coffee in the room. The bathroom was well in need of updating and there were small flies all over the place. The drapes and bed covers looked very shabby and dirty. The upstairs viewing platform has great potential, but has been very neglected and obviously not cleaned or been cared for, bits of old wood strewn around and the remains of a party at the bar left for some time.
In all, it is very overpriced for what it is, and I would not recommend anyone to stay there.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Higubury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

The west usk lighthouse is not quite what it seems on the website. Although it is a unique building and a great home for its owners, as a bed and breakfast it is overpriced and in need of revamping. The rooms need cleaning as there were cobwebs on the walls. The 4 poster room we had smelt musty and needed re-decorating. The bathroom was like a cubicle and it looked old and in need of some work. The place has got the potential to be something special but the cleanliness factor made a big difference. On the roof top, the hot tub was nice but needed to be cleaned as there were dead flies in it. The rooftop bar/seating area could be nice but instead was covered in cobwebs. Overall there was something depressing about the place and it was not worth the £95 a night we spent. The owners are really friendly and welcoming and the breakfast was great but the place does not match the description of one of the most romantic places in Britain. We were disappointed and will think very carefully in the future before paying over the odds for a 2 star B&B.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaishree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archiac, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2005

My wife and I wanted to go away for our Wedding Anniversary so we chose this Bed and Breakfast which we located on a website called Ultimate Bed and Breakfast.

The accommodation on that website was described as luxurious.

We arrived at the Lighthouse over looking the River Severn (tidal) and were met by the kind and friendly owner who has been living their since 1988 I think he said.

We were shown up the windy narrow staircase (as you would expect in a lighthouse!) and shown to our room which consisted of a four poster bed and ensuite facilities. The room was comfortable but not luxurious but certainly clean, albeit a little tired.

Coffee and tea facilities were in the room as was a tv/dvd player.

The shower was old and small but passable in terms of cleanliness.

The breakfasts were huge with cereals, fruit juice, full English (Welsh!) breakfast, toast and tea or coffee. Certainly enough to keep you not wanting lunch.

Once at the Lighthouse you are secluded between Newport and Cardiff but certainly within 20 minutes by car of each along the minor road.

If you want to stay at a different type of B & B then this is fun especially if you plan to visit nearby Cardiff.

Two nights in Sept 2005 cost us £196-00 for B & B which (despite the "different" accomodation) I think was expensive.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank lizardman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brides Wentlooge
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
5.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
505 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
13.5 mi away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Usk Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Usk Lighthouse

Property: West Usk Lighthouse
Address: Lighthouse Rd, St. Brides Wentlooge, Newport NP10 8SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > St. Brides Wentlooge
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Brides Wentlooge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Usk Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super B&B in a real Lighthouse, near Newport Gwent with 4-poster beds and a waterbed, all en-suite. There is a hot tub on the roof! Great for families, hen nights, birthday celebrations, special anniversaries. We now have a wedding license for up to 23 guests. When there is a group booking, the lighthouse is not available to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your West Usk Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Usk Lighthouse Hotel St. Brides Wentlooge
West Usk Lighthouse Newport/St. Brides Wentlooge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing