We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience...definitely worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Usk Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience...definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked a nights stay in the lighthouse after seeing it on the advertisement for laterooms.com. We arrived at about 3pm which was earlier than the check in time so we went for a walk along the coastal path for an hour.

We checked into our room at 4pm. We chose the room with the king size waterbed which had beautiful views of the sea. The room was large and had everything you would need including free wireless Internet, a hair dryer, complimentary tea and coffee with fresh milk, a fridge hidden away in a cupboard, a TV with a DVD player (there was a massive collection of DVD's for you to borrow as well).

For dinner Frank, the owner, recommended The Inn at The Elm Tree which was literally a two minute drive away (back down the gravel track, turn left and drive for about three minutes). The food there was outstanding and the two of us had a three course meal and drinks for about £80.

After dinner we returned to the lighthouse and spent the evening watching the sun go down and the stars come out while sat in the hot tub on the roof - a perfect way to end the day.

After an amazing nights sleep we were treated to a fantastic breakfast and Frank told us about the history of the lighthouse and how he came to purchase it over 25 years ago. If you do stay there, ask him to show you the picture of the lighthouse when he purchased it. It is only when you see the photograph that you will realise just how much effort has gone in to restoring this beautiful building to its former glory and you will love it even more.

I would recommend the lighthouse stay to anyone. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are very different. The watered room was the biggest but the other rooms had power showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulandDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    36
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
32
194
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a fabulous place for a B & B. Frank is a super host who made sure we had everything we needed. Hot tub on the roof definitely the added bonus - looking over the estuary at midnight and also early in the morning from the tub was fantastic. The water bed ensured a good nights sleep and a nice clean room with all accessories included - even the binoculars to check out the views. Loved it.

Room Tip: If you want a good place to stay overnight that's a bit quirky and different then choose the lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and I have just spent a wonderful weekend in this beautiful quirky lighthouse. We were greeted by the owner Frank who was so welcoming and hospitable. He gave us the history of the lighthouse aand suggested lovely places to visit and eat. (But we didnt need to eat after the wonderful enormous breakfasts he cooked for us!!). sparky the dog benefitted from what I couldnt manage and I made a friend for life after that!!

The view was gorgeous....especially so when sitting in the hot tub under the full moon....next to the Tardis!!! LOL xxx .....think Frank is dr Who fan as there was also a real live dalek with a scarf in the hallway!!! (and a wishing well.....). This was a wonderful peaceful weekend....we stayed in the room with the waterbed which was amazing and sooooo comfy...I kept having little snoozes on it and felt so rested.

If you want a lovely peaceful and different weekend that really "does you good" then treat yourself to a weekend here...we saw all the rooms and they are all beautiful and tasteful and very comfy....a special treat xx

Room Tip: ....all rooms are fab...there are only 4, all done to a high standard and are wonderful...the waterb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We (husband,wife, 9 & 10 yr old boys plus lab retriever) have just got back from a memorable night away at the West Usk Lighthouse. It had everything we wanted. A great adventure for the boys; clean, comfortable and well equipped room and a very warm welcome. Frank made us all welcome and the boys could not get enough of the place (especially the hot tub). Our 9 yr old wants his next birthday there. Breakfast was high quality and plentiful. Perfect place to escape the half term chaos elsewhere. A real hidden gem.

Room Tip: All rooms looked brilliant. We had the family room and the view was over the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndreaMc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with a stay at West Usk Lighthouse last night - what an amazing surprise!

I love lighthouses and my dream has always been to stay in one, what a perfect lighthouse to chose!

Our room was huge with a big window and window seat looking out over the sea - we even had a water bed!

The crown jewel is the rooftop hot tub, and surrounding seating area which we took advantage of even in the light rain.

The rooms are well appointed and the lantern room is the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine.

Frank is a wonderful host who made us a hearty breakfast before we took the lighthouse dog, Sparky, out for a stroll along the water.

My boyfriend scored major points with this surprise and I hope we are able to return and enjoy this gem in slightly warmer weather!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SuzyeSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wow, utterly enchanting. Hot tub on the upper deck area in the sun, awesome. Very interesting place for a weekend break. Take some wine for the tub! Absolutley cracking.

If you want top gastro food check out The Bell Inn at Caerleon. Also awesome and very good value. About 10 miles.

Room Tip: Best views from the room with waterbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauiBuilt2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just returned from a Wednesday night in the lighthouse which I booked for my partner as a birthday surprise. We arrived and were shown around by Frank and then to our waterbed room but no further as I asked him to keep the jacuzzi on the rooftop quiet until later. We took a nice walk along the sand and then back to get changed to have a evening meal at the Elm Tree Inn (which I would also highly recommend).
On returning we got ready to go to the rooftop and then spent the rest of the night in the jacuzzi with a glass of wine each looking at the stars and passing ships. The other half said that this was the icing on the cake for what was already a perfect night. We slept like logs on the waterbed and then got up early to have our morning cuppa in the jacuzzi before heading down for delicious cooked breakfasts and plenty of other things to choose from.
The lighthouse is homely, unique and totally charming. I have never felt so relaxed and at ease while staying away as I did here and you can really forget about everything and come and go as you please.
I can appreciate all of the hard work that has gone into the lighthouse and the owners have done a fantastic job. Two very satisfied customers who cannot wait to return...or move in! If only....

Room Tip: The water room has to be the best one for the views with plenty of space and an ultra comfy waterbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Brides Wentlooge
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
5.1 mi away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
6.4 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Llansantffraed Court
Llansantffraed Court
#2 of 2 in Abergavenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
9.4 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#11 of 18 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Usk Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Usk Lighthouse

Property: West Usk Lighthouse
Address: Lighthouse Rd, St. Brides Wentlooge, Newport NP10 8SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Newport > St. Brides Wentlooge
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Brides Wentlooge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Usk Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super B&B in a real Lighthouse, near Newport Gwent with 4-poster beds and a waterbed, all en-suite. There is a hot tub on the roof! Great for families, hen nights, birthday celebrations, special anniversaries. We now have a wedding license for up to 23 guests. When there is a group booking, the lighthouse is not available to others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your West Usk Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Usk Lighthouse Hotel St. Brides Wentlooge
West Usk Lighthouse Newport/St. Brides Wentlooge, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing