We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walnut Tree Farm Park

Walnut Tree Farm Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walnut Tree Farm Park has something to offer children of all ages. It has been a working farm for over 50 years and has opened to the public as a farm park in the last few years. We boast a wide variety of animals including horses, lamas, goats, pigs, ducks, alpacas, donkeys, sheep, highland cattle and our friendly reindeer. The children can make friends with the rabbits and guinea pigs in our petting area. The children are given the opportunity to have a pony ride. Explore the farm on our Tractor ride. Large Play Areas Adventure playground and large indoor and outdoor play areas. Child friendly activity areas with swings, slides, climbing frames and loads of wood chipping's. A safe toddler friendly area for the little ones to have fun. We have a new soft-play area next to the cafe. Go-Kart Racing Pedal power racing around our purpose built circuit Country Walks Over 80 acres of country walks including 3 fishing lakes. Follow the farm-trail to see even more farm animals in their paddocks Picnic Areas We have some great picnic areas on-site. Bring a picnic and enjoy it either indoors or outdoors Cafe and Shop We offer a selection of wholesome meals, snacks, teas, variety of speciality coffees and cold drinks in our new spacious cafe. Souvenir's, gifts and animal feed are all available in the shop We offer discounts for large group bookings. We can also organise offsite visits and bring selected animals to your school, for example our reindeer and donkey could pay you a visit at Christmas!
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went here with my partner and two boys, what a fantastic day!!! Staff were very friendly and animals too!! Weather was great that's always a bonus. That place was very clean and tidy, there was plenty to do and see and the animals looked really happy! Would recommend this to anybody with young children and my family will definitely be going there again!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SarahLou432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    6
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Kids loved it here and the sun came out and”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

They were able to go outside and play and eat their food in the picnic area staff were friendly and all in all the kids had a wonderful day will be going back again for sure .

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went here today with my son who turned 2 today with my fiancée and parents. To be honest i've never heard of this place, I had heard of Cefn Mably Farm park but not this one, but speaking to family it seemed to come recommended. I was expecting something worse due to the last reviewer but we were very much pleased with our visit.

Arrived mid afternoon, lots of parking and we were lucky in that the weather was lovely and sunny. We went into reception, noticed some renovation work is being done which wasn't very disruptive at all. Nobody was manning reception but only took 15 seconds or so for somebody to come out to see us. She was friendly and we were offered feed and told about the animals including some recent births on the farm which was great!

It was very quiet when we came only two people besides us were on the farm that we could see, so had the whole place to ourselves. There were chickens, rabbits, goats, pigs, bulls, cows, llamas, reindeer and more! The children's play areas are great, lots of room and rides, swings and slides i'm definately bringing my little one here again.

My son loved his day out. It's a well managed clean working farm. Picnic area too and lots of open space, hygienic and friendly staff.

Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank waynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't bother - you may as well drop coins down a drain.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

After having visited previously we had heard that the facilities had been enhanced though within 10 seconds of arriving it was patently obvious that this wasn't the case. There was noone in duty, one chap taking the money (far too much of for an entrance fee if you ask me), the cafe was closed, the "soft play" area was closed, the place was stinking, soulless and quite frankly an embarrassment. The place has let itself go badly. The animals look tired of being alive and for £15 entrance fee for 2 adults & 2 kids I felt VERY ripped off. It was school holidays so why not more effort? Cefn Mably is more expensive but far better for this type of place. We won't be returning. Ever.

Helpful?
2 Thank MrsG1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“a great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a great time here! the kids loved it
the farm is clean and well organised and the animals look well cared for
there are plenty of places to sit

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank laura j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Tree Farm Park also viewed

Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to Walnut Tree Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing