We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an absolute hidden jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lighthouse Inn

The Lighthouse Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: We are a traditional country pub situated right on the edge of the severn estuary.We serve bar meals downstairs on thursdays, fridays and saturdays along with our popular sunday lunch.We also have a steakhouse restaurant upstairs which opens on a friday and saturday night and serves "steak on a stone" which is a hot volcanic rock that cooks your steak to perfection at your table. This restaurant is strictly adult only because of the hot rock system.
wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“an absolute hidden jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

we went to the steakhouse for the first time last night and were blown away by the quality of the food the attentiveness of the staff the ambeiance of the surroundings and quite importantly in these times the value for money Others have commented on the friendliness of the family who run the pub and restuarant and i add my voice to that The service is friendly but professional and i would happily recommend it

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara p, Manager at The Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
What a lovely review!
Many thanks for taking the time to write it and for your recommendations.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    13
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Steak stones!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A very warm and welcoming inn with great food and service. The steak on the sizzles stones was great fun, utterly delicious and is highly recommended!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Konrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara p, Manager at The Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I like the Lighthouse as they serve real ales, the Sharpes Doom Bar was very good. We were here for Sunday lunch, I was slightly disappointed that there were only two to choose from but the food itself was good, well served and good value.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceinwen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara p, Manager at The Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our sunday lunch offering.
We're really pleased you enoyed your lunch and look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by its cover.!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Not sure about the place when we arrived, bit tripadvisors come up trumps again.
We could not go up to the steak house because we had the children with us, but had a lovely meal in the bar.
(350 degree hot stones and young children don't mix.!!!)
Even though we arrived late the owners were very obliging and gave us a warm welcome.
The food was a good price and more than lots of it.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone whose local or from afar.
Will definitely be back.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brechfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara p, Manager at The Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review.
We were happy to welcome you and your lovely family and so pleased that you enjoyed your evening with us.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in the area.
"Croeso"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
147 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“What a super pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Lighthouse Inn is hidden away at the end of the beach road and has proved to be a real discovery. The best thing about this pub/restaurant is the family that run it. The warmest of welcomes and effortless, friendly service is provided by Dave, the bar manager, his mum (in the kitchen) and sister, Vicky who runs the restaurant upstairs ("Lighthouse Rocks", open at weekends). The main bar is cosy with a roaring fire and serves a superb pint of Guinness! We ate in the steak restaurant upstairs on a Friday evening. The rib eye was of a good quality and the "steak stone" cooking method is original and fun. We will definitely come back to try the Sunday lunch. This business deserves to do well and the people behind it are certainly in the right trade as they do hospitality so successfully.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chilli-Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sara p, Manager at The Lighthouse Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We're really pleased that you discovered us and had a wonderful evening in the steakhouse with vicky.
We look forward to seeing you for that sunday lunch.
Oh and Dave was sooo pleased to finally get a mention :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Inn also viewed

Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 
Newport, South Wales
 
Newport, South Wales
Newport, South Wales
 

Been to The Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing