We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed(Pencoed)(Great Value!)
$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
77
34
27
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
34
27
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo double bedsbridal suitecomfortable hotelgreat accommodationroast beefattending a weddingchristmas lunchground floorstaff were lovelybed and breakfastfrom start to finishbridgend areaconservatorygolferscardiffstartersalison
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 157 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017

I stay on a regular basis and have always been very well looked after. All the staff are great, the hotel is very clean and comfortable and there is an excellent choice of menus available throughout the day. The old chef is back and produces some great daily specials as well as steaks and other tempting dishes on the standard menu. Best value for money hotel in the Bridgend area by far.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

St Mary's Hotel and our Saints Restaurant compliment each other wonderfully and your excellent review affirms this. As a regular guest, your comments are very welcome and confirm our endeavours to ensure that we maintain our high standards. As you are aware each member of staff does their utmost to enhance each guests experience. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile

We chose St Mary's for our wedding accommodation after our marriage at nearby St Donats castle. We chose it because it was close and and could accommodate most of our friends and family.
My partner rang to enquire about rates and the possibility of booking the whole hotel for our guests. She spoke to a friendly and helpful young man who advised we could have the bridal suite for us and all the other rooms at a set rate for our guests. We asked him to put the offer in an email. We then rang straight back to go ahead with the booking for our room and shared the link for the hotel with our guests in order for them to do the same.
The following day we received messages from our guests advising they had rung to book, only to be told by a rude foreign gentleman, that they could not have the rate agreed! My partner rang the hotel to speak with the original gentleman she had spoken to but he was not in and the foreign gentleman was adamant we should not have been given that rate, even though we had it in writing. My partner asked to speak to the manager and was then passed on to Andrew Norris, Financial Controller/Secretary. His attitude was awful. He stated that he did not care what we had in writing or that we would be booking out the whole hotel on a Sunday evening, we could not have that rate and that was that. My partner stated she was not happy and wanted to speak to his manager as the conversation was getting heated and she was getting upset.
Seeing my partner so stressed and upset, I rang the hotel myself and spoke to a lady called Alison and relayed what had happened. She apologised profusely and assured she would honour the rate we had in writing.
Over the months before our big day, we regularly checked in with St Mary's to check how many rooms were left and who had booked to try and ensure the hotel had full occupancy with our guests. We constantly got told conflicting information about how many rooms were left and names of people who had booked, to the point that we only felt comfortable dealing with Alison as she was the only person who seemed to be in control.
We had it confirmed on several occasions, in writing, that although our bridal party would be arriving back to the hotel after 12am, we would still be able have drinks in the bar if we wanted to and just charge them to room. Fast forward to our special day, my partner and her maid of honour dropped off our bags at the hotel and out of courtesy make them aware cars would be left in their carpark. She once again confirmed with the lady on reception that alcoholic drinks would be available after 12am and the night porter would serve us, with drinks being charged to the rooms as there would be no cash on site.
Our wedding day was just perfect and all in amazing spirits, we hopped on to the coach we had booked and headed back to St Mary's.
On arrival, we were told that Andrew Norris had instructed staff that no alcohol was to be served to our party. Once again, going back on what had been agreed. This was the final straw and we asked the night porter to get him on the phone. On speaking to Andrew it was clear he didn't care as his parting words were 'well you didn't have your wedding with us, you're just renting a room'. It seemed clear to us that he had given these instructions to staff out of sheer spite at us firstly having the rooms at the rate we were quoted and not having our wedding with them.
I would like to highlight at this point that the guest book states, drinks from the bar can be ordered until 2am for residents.
Upset and with our evening ending on a sour note, we all went to bed.
We all agreed to meet for breakfast at 9am, given that it ended at 9.30am! The breakfast buffet food was nice, but considering that we had booked out the whole hotel, they were clearly not prepared to cater for that amount of people. They were running out of food and people were having to wait for more food to come out. The lady bringing out the food was lovely and we all felt sorry for her being in that situation.
All in all, we are still in shock by how we have been treated.
Clearly if you don't have your actual wedding at St Mary's, you're a second class citizen.
We met Alison face to face upon checking out and relayed what had happened. She seemed mortified and it was clear that her hands were tied as although apologetic, she said any complaint would be dealt with by Andrew Norris..... The cause of our complaint.
Such a shame and totally unnecessary treatment

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank eppyblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, General Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Your comments have been duly noted ..... again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

My daughter got married at St Donats Castle on Sunday 11th June and we booked rooms for approximately 30 guests to stay after the celebrations. When we arrived there was no one to book us in so some of the guests had to go and look for a member of staff. To be fair the rooms were lovely but they were the only good thing about our stay.My daughter had arranged with the manager for the bar to stay open and serve alcohol, he was not on duty and they would only serve soft drinks. The following morning we went to breakfast only to find that they had run out of toast,mushrooms, hash browns,black pudding,and most of the continental breakfast options,as we had booked most if not all the rooms I think this was appalling. There was no explanation or apology and it certainly took some of the pleasure out of a wonderful day.
I would not recommend any one to stay here unless they had to.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, General Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Your comments have been duly noted .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We stayed for two nights with two other couples as we were attending a wedding on the Saturday. Our evening meal on the Friday was superb. The room ws large with a super ensuite bathroom and shower. On the downside the tea and coffee making facilities were rather 'cheap'. There was no variety of tea e.g earl grey or fruit teas and the biscuits were very bland - economy custard creams.
The breakfasts were good and the staff were mostly very pleasant and helpful. The major problem was that there was a mix up with ordering a taxi for the wedding - as a result my husband and brothers in law missed their sister's wedding. Mistakes happen but we were rather disappointed not to get an apology from the staff.

Room Tip: If you want wifi - make sure you get a room where it works.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at St Mary's.
Management and Housekeeping have been made aware of your comments regarding the refreshments choices and facilities in your room. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal with us and that you found the staff pleasant and helpful. I can only apologize that the local taxi firm we use did not honour the reservations made with them the evening before. We use their services on a regular basis and never had a problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

I felt the hotel did not meet expectations either with the staff or the quality of the meals.
We were mostly ignored by the staff and were not asked on check out if we were happy.
The evening meal on our arrival date was poor and only one of our party had exactly what they ordered or were happy with their meals. Breakfast was very poor with poached eggs swimming in water and the bacon was thin, rock hard and tasteless, I couldn't cut but had to snap it. Very inferior quality although the breakfast waitress was very pleasant and helpful.
We won't stay here or eat here in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

We would like to thank you for your review after your recent visit and sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay. I wish the points you mention were raised with Management during your stay so we could of made your time with us more enjoyable. We all pride ourselves on attention to detail and customer care and hope we do see you again soon so we can demonstrate this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews