We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed(Pencoed)(Great Value!)
$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel(Pencoed)(Great Value!)
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bridgend Central Hotel(Bridgend)(Great Value!)
$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
77
34
27
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
34
27
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo double bedsbridal suitecomfortable hotelgreat accommodationroast beefattending a weddingchristmas lunchground floorstaff were lovelybed and breakfastfrom start to finishbridgend areaconservatorygolferscardiffstartersalison
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 157 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2017

I felt the hotel did not meet expectations either with the staff or the quality of the meals.
We were mostly ignored by the staff and were not asked on check out if we were happy.
The evening meal on our arrival date was poor and only one of our party had exactly what they ordered or were happy with their meals. Breakfast was very poor with poached eggs swimming in water and the bacon was thin, rock hard and tasteless, I couldn't cut but had to snap it. Very inferior quality although the breakfast waitress was very pleasant and helpful.
We won't stay here or eat here in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

We would like to thank you for your review after your recent visit and sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay. I wish the points you mention were raised with Management during your stay so we could of made your time with us more enjoyable. We all pride ourselves on attention to detail and customer care and hope we do see you again soon so we can demonstrate this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Stayed here last July so here we are again,great location nice very clean modern rooms good food good beer good staff good services plenty of rooms for large groups
Nice breakfast plenty of choice really nice evening meals
Recommended but book in advance good for groups weddings sports events

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment after another stay at St Mary's. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit again.
Hurry back we cant wait to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

we arrived at hotel on Friday 9/6/17 as my brother was getting married there on the Saturday 10/6/17, made to feel very welcome, they changed our room to a larger one, we decided to eat in and there was 12 of us and the meal was fabulous best steak we have had in years!! the only blip was as the hotel were not full on the Friday only 2 staff members on so the desserts were a bit slow coming. on the Saturday the staff was brilliant, we helped set the room up for the wedding but the manager was super, really got involved, the wedding itself was great we went upstairs for the service and ate in the conservatory and the food!!!!!!!!!!!! was to die for!! roast beef the lot and apple pie ummmmm the evening was great enough staff on, can't rate this hotel enough 10 stars in my opinion

Room Tip: only 1 floor apart from ground but all rooms are good
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Always a pleasure to receive such a pleasing review.
Thank you so much for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017

Arriving at St Mary's hotel I was impressed by the size of the car park, and the hotel looks very quaint from the outside.
I had to go to the restaurant to check in. It is not part of the hotel building but a 30 yard walk across an open courtyard which is fine unless it's raining.
My room had a new very modern toilet and walk in shower. The bedroom was a complete contrast and almost Victorian in appearance with two old fashioned looking double beds, a dark wooden wardrobe and dressing table. On the wall was a decent sized flat screen TV with a good choice of Freeview channels.
My bed wasn't very comfortable and the duvet could be better described as a quilt. The walk in shower had a rain head and a horizontal chrome bar supporting the glass side screen at just below my head height. At 6'4" I had to duck under the bar to get to the shower. The floor of the shower was quite slippery in use, and there was no hand rail.
There were numerous information notices below the glass topped dressing table and bedside table. One in particular caught my eye. It read, "No alcohol may be brought into St Mary's Hotel, Golf and Country Club Complex/premises by clients or guests for consumption on the premises unless prior consent of St Mary's Hotel, Golf and Country Club has been obtained. Any alcohol found not to have been purchased on the premises and permission not obtained, will be confiscated and a corkage charge made". I have posted a picture of this notice. I question the legality of the notice and am concerned as to how they would go about proving possession of illicit alcohol. The mind boggles. This is one hotel that I will never use again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent stay here at St Marys. We are all disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been passed to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in order to get to see the Rugby .gTo get to the stadium was a £5 taxi to Pen- coed and a £5 rail journey to Cardiff Central , all very stress free. For the trip back be prepared to walk a couple of miles from Pen-coed station to the remotely located hotel as taxi's are scarce after the game.
As for the hotel itself just think 80,s style complete with gold plated taps, jacuzzi bath , false brown painted ceiling beams , pine furniture, creaking floors and all looking like it needs a good refurbish . For £149 a night I expected more .
The shower was weak and digital signal for the TV ( the only modern thing in the room) was poor so just a few channels to watch . Breakfast was very basic with tables allocated to you room , food edible as long as your not too fussy .They can provide gluten free toast which was a bonus

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank wp12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at St Mary's. I am pleased to learn that you found getting to and from Cardiff stress free. Our countryside location, not too far from the local village train station, is a great base for visits in and out of the city however International match days in Cardiff do present difficulties with taxis .............. staff here would of been more that happy to book a taxi for your return trip. I am pleased you found our Staff helpful but sorry to learn that you found the décor to be dated. Your comments have been passed to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews