We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
78
34
28
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
34
28
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two double beds bridal suite comfortable hotel great accommodation roast beef attending a wedding christmas lunch ground floor staff were lovely bed and breakfast from start to finish bridgend area conservatory golfers cardiff brothers venue
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 159 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2017

Arriving at St Mary's hotel I was impressed by the size of the car park, and the hotel looks very quaint from the outside.
I had to go to the restaurant to check in. It is not part of the hotel building but a 30 yard walk across an open courtyard which is fine unless it's raining.
My room had a new very modern toilet and walk in shower. The bedroom was a complete contrast and almost Victorian in appearance with two old fashioned looking double beds, a dark wooden wardrobe and dressing table. On the wall was a decent sized flat screen TV with a good choice of Freeview channels.
My bed wasn't very comfortable and the duvet could be better described as a quilt. The walk in shower had a rain head and a horizontal chrome bar supporting the glass side screen at just below my head height. At 6'4" I had to duck under the bar to get to the shower. The floor of the shower was quite slippery in use, and there was no hand rail.
There were numerous information notices below the glass topped dressing table and bedside table. One in particular caught my eye. It read, "No alcohol may be brought into St Mary's Hotel, Golf and Country Club Complex/premises by clients or guests for consumption on the premises unless prior consent of St Mary's Hotel, Golf and Country Club has been obtained. Any alcohol found not to have been purchased on the premises and permission not obtained, will be confiscated and a corkage charge made". I have posted a picture of this notice. I question the legality of the notice and am concerned as to how they would go about proving possession of illicit alcohol. The mind boggles. This is one hotel that I will never use again.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the trouble to review your recent stay here at St Marys. We are all disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been passed to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in order to get to see the Rugby .gTo get to the stadium was a £5 taxi to Pen- coed and a £5 rail journey to Cardiff Central , all very stress free. For the trip back be prepared to walk a couple of miles from Pen-coed station to the remotely located hotel as taxi's are scarce after the game.
As for the hotel itself just think 80,s style complete with gold plated taps, jacuzzi bath , false brown painted ceiling beams , pine furniture, creaking floors and all looking like it needs a good refurbish . For £149 a night I expected more .
The shower was weak and digital signal for the TV ( the only modern thing in the room) was poor so just a few channels to watch . Breakfast was very basic with tables allocated to you room , food edible as long as your not too fussy .They can provide gluten free toast which was a bonus

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank wp12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at St Mary's. I am pleased to learn that you found getting to and from Cardiff stress free. Our countryside location, not too far from the local village train station, is a great base for visits in and out of the city however International match days in Cardiff do present difficulties with taxis .............. staff here would of been more that happy to book a taxi for your return trip. I am pleased you found our Staff helpful but sorry to learn that you found the décor to be dated. Your comments have been passed to management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Wow - booked christmas day lunch for 4 at the hotel - a huge amount of food which was gorgeous. 5 courses and even a visit from father christmas himself. Not rushed, with the right amount of time between courses. Was stuffed for hours afterwards. Always had a good meal at St Mary's and christmas day was no different. Good job St Mary's

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Cath070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, General Manager at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your review and so very pleased you enjoyed your Christmas Day with us.
Santa and all the staff at St Marys wish you well for the coming year and hope to see you again soon.
David & Tony
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016

We all thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas lunch yesterday, the food was superb and there was a lovely Christmassy atmosphere, and with Santa arriving with presents for the children was the highlight of the afternoon. Staff were lovely, nothing too much trouble. Well done St Mary's

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to comment on your Christmas Day lunch. What a pleasing review. The Staff were thrilled by your generous praise.
We look forward to spending Christmas Day 2017 with you and your family.
Best wishes for the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic Christmas Day lunch here. Could not fault the food, service or atmosphere. A big thank you to all the staff as it can't be much fun working on Christmas Day. Food was excellent, piping hot with generous portions. Nothing was to much trouble and to top it all a visit from Santa for the little ones. Wonderful, thank you so much.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stmaryshotel18, Head Receptionist at St. Mary's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

What a wonderful review. Your comments are very welcome and confirm our endeavours to ensure that we maintain our high standards. We are a warm and friendly team who enjoy meeting guests both new and returning. We really hope to spend 2017 Christmas day with you and your family.
Best wishes for the New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews