We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing on the menu...”
Review of St. Mary's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Mary's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The hotel itself is in a beautiful setting and is no doubt fabulous if you are staying there for the golf. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful (in fact, they were by far the best thing about this hotel!). However, I'd booked a table at their Italian restaurant that night for eight friends (at a reasonable 8pm) and there was hardly anything on the menu! Rather than saying what WASN'T on the menu, it was easier to ask what WAS on it! Needless to say, it was a fairly disappointing experience. Other than that, the room was OK but nothing more (and was VERY dated) and did not have a fridge. I was there to do the dragon ride cyclosportive and would probably look elsewhere if I do the race next year...if it wasn't for the incredibly friendly staff I would have given this a one or two star rating.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank turbopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 150 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2008

this is a lovely hotel we stayed in 1994 and we stayed again in 2008 the standards were just as good 14 years later we had a lovely time and felt really chilled out afterwards

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beanieFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

The hotel is an older building which doubles as the club-house for the golf course. The location is beautiful, with great views across the South Wales countryside, 2-minute drive from J35 on the M4 – ideal for Bridgend which is only 5 minutes away (which is annoying, because this hotel doesn't come up when you search for 'Bridgend')

I’ve stayed in about 10 different rooms and they are all very good, with two “sleigh” type wooden double beds in each room and a little seating area. The bar and restaurants are great – the bar does some very good food and excellent starters, whilst the restaurant in a large airy conservatory, does more formal dinners. Breakfast is minimalist but functional.

I know for a fact that there are 25 rooms, not 24 as stated. I know this because the last time I stayed, I got a free upgrade to “room 25” – which I couldn’t find because the room numbers only go up to 24. After going back to reception for directions, it turns out "25" is the bridal suite - four-poster bed, wooden floors and massive Jacuzzi bath! Result!

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank JasonLaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We found this hotel quite by accident, and are glad that we did. The staff were wonderful; very friendly and welcoming, without being intrusive. The food was very good, a varied range of dishes, complemented by a decent wine list at reasonable prices. The surrounding environment and countryside were quite delightful. It is a pity that neither of us plays golf, because we were unable to take advantage of the lovely golf courses. We shall definitely return and also recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tom99y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

This is the best find ever. What a lovely hotel, Beautiful setting, spacious and well appointed rooms, very friendly staff, fantastic food. Everything for the weekend about this hotel was terrific. Will be going back again shortly, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fred082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

If you're stuck in the 1970s this is the place for you. Brown walls, curtains and bedding. My room had a nagging foisty smell, which refused to move, despite opening the window. The TV is of the period, a barely working 'Granada' portable, which only shows 'Terry and June' and 'On the buses'.

The food is grim. A strange Welsh/Med fusion. Breakfast is slow and eventually poor. A small selection of cereals, cheap orange juice displayed on what seems like a bedside table, no meats or cheeses. Staff have received intensive training in retro service, that's if you can find any.

Unless you like dressing up as the Partridge family....steer clear.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Vasgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ceci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pencoed
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
3.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
573 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
514 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
311 reviews
6 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Hotel

Address: St. Mary's Hill, Pencoed CF35 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pencoed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Price Range: $114 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mary's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. Mary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marys Hotel
St. Mary's Hotel Pencoed, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing