We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of St. Mary's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Mary's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here after a wedding. The room was nice, the staff were friendly. The location was nice and peaceful. I thought it was all reasonably priced. The food was amazing! I would defiantly stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamsynroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 150 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel while attending a wedding. The accommodation was excellent, spacious and very well appointed. The hotel, setting was truly magical, staff were great and the food delicious. Will go back again for a weekend break this year.

Stayed: May 2013
2  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Friendly staff, stunning food, gorgeous scenery, very comfy rooms (loved the new smart T.V. ) and a great game of golf to boot! Defo going back! Might take the Mrs next time :) The bathrooms are having a total refurb, so cant wait.

Room Tip: We had room 12 on the first floor, huge and spacious with 2 double beds! great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micheal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at St. Mary's when attending a concert in Cardiff. Easy to get to the city centre and the Hotel was fantastic being set in beautiful countryside. Friendly staff and the food was exceptional. We managed to get a round of golf in before we left and what an exquisite 18 hole course. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4, 2 double beds, nice quiet room and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here recently for a wedding. The hotel rooms are very dark and crammed with old heavy furniture. Bathroom was very dated looking with old wood fixtures. The spa bath was ancient and the old dirty sealant and grouting round it drives me mad especially when they want circa £90/night. The wedding was on a Monday and after the ceremony we had to share the decking outside the bar where we were having photos with the local golfers which really is not very special for the bride. On the upside the food was good and the staff were pleasant but I felt the overall package was not worth the money.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank dalfaber16B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here for two nights as I was attending a wedding nearby.The location is absolutely beautiful and surprisingly peaceful considering its close proximity to j35 of the M4.The rooms are huge with two double beds in the room I stayed in which were very comfortable.I was lucky to be one of the first guests to have the use of the new smart tv's that had just been put into the rooms!During my stay there were new bathrooms being installed in some of the rooms which look stunning.The food was superb,I was really impressed with the quality and it was very good value for money.All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and I will definitely be staying again,I would recommend this hotel to anyone.There is also free wifi througout the complex!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamescorsa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night in June on a business trip. Paid £67 for a single occupancy room. Was told on check out to book direct and not through Booking.com next time, as it is cheaper.

Despite having only 3 AA Stars this hotel was very nice and well equipped.

The good.
Comfy clean rooms.
very quiet
good breakfast
Discounted golf course on site. they actually have an 18 hole and 12 hole. I played the 18 holes which was a very nice course.
Friendly staff
Free fast WiFi
Decent TV with all the free view channels
My bath had a bubble maker - great after 18 holes
restaurant food was decent and not too pricey
I got a free bottle of wine on check out. A decent red wine too.

Bad.
The bathroom is getting a little tired. A thorough clean and perhaps some new light fixtures would make a world of difference.

I'm looking forward to my next visit to south wales.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talktomeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pencoed
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Bridgend Pencoed
3.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
572 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
514 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Great House Hotel
The Great House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bridgend
311 reviews
6 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Hotel

Address: St. Mary's Hill, Pencoed CF35 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pencoed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Price Range: $114 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mary's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your St. Mary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marys Hotel
St. Mary's Hotel Pencoed, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing