We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far from perfect but strangely enjoyable”
Review of St. Mary's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Mary's Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Certificate of Excellence
Hedgerley, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Far from perfect but strangely enjoyable”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have just returned from a Saturday night stay at St Mary's and while it has its faults I have to say that I enjoyed it.
The hotel is primarily there for the golf market and I'm not a golfer but it doesn't overwhelm the place unlike a similar hotel I stayed in a few years ago. The decor is a bit dated and feels a little tired and I was always expecting to meet Margot and Jerry Leadbetter round the next corner but everything was clean, the bed was comfortable and the room was huge.
On the negative side there was no complimentary shampoo in the room which I've never experienced before and with breakfast finishing at 9.30 and checkout by 10.30 you can't help feeling that they want to get rid of you.
Having said that, the staff were all without exception fantastic, the breakfast was very good (apart from the black pudding) and the price tag was surprisingly low.
Apparently the golf course is pretty decent too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
30
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Unusually enough, this is a re-review as I had previously posted a review on here 3-years ago. But hadn’t been back since.

Time has not been kind. During the three years, there appears to have been no maintenance or redecoration at all. The carpets on the stairs had been worn down to the backing and parts of the restaurant/bar area were very threadbare indeed. The room was still pretty cosy and I still love the sleigh beds.

The previously excellent cooking seems to have gone awry. My dinner of battered fish was an embarrassment; with the soggiest batter I’ve ever had the misfortune to experience. I appreciate that things can go wrong in the kitchen, but this was pretty inept. As poor as dinner was, it couldn’t hold a candle to the breakfast which appeared to include a hockey puck that had presumably at some point been an innocent slice of black pudding that had been blast-fried to death.

I probably would still stay here if I’m in the Bridgend area again, but it’s not the brilliant place I used to know.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonLaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

My wife and i stayed here for our fith wedding anniversary as it was the place where i proposed. The hotel , bar everything was great exept the staff. The 2 women that were working the spike bar were nothing short of hopeless as was the person at the reception of the hotel. Didnt even get a thank you after we bought drink, even when we were about to leavente sunday mornign the guy at the hotel reception didnt even ask us if we enjoyed our stay also not even a thatnks or please of any of them. Great hotel but needs to teach the staff some manners. Conservatory carpet has cellortape to cover up the rips. Just spend a couple of hundred quid and gt a new one. My brother has been going to this golf club for many years and has decided against having his reception here due to the staff and has now booked the coed-yr-mwstwr instead. How many more are doing this due to the staff

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bristolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I am in the business myself and stayed on the 29th November 2008. I totally disagree with the comments made by Fawlty Towers who stopped on 5th November 2008. The hotel rooms were large, nicely decorated and clean with the bonus of a whirlpool bath. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and the service was excellent. I also found the food to be superb and with a very wide choice of dishes on the menu. I am going to recommend this hotel to my friends as I know they will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — whirlpool bath
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chef70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2008

We booked into this hotel as we were attending a wedding nearby, our booking was for 2 nights Friday and Saturday.

(This is a long review but strongly recommend you read before you book!)

We arrived just as it was getting dark on the Friday night and hotel visitors are directed to a back car park which was covered in mud probably dropped by golf trollies. The car park at the front with lovely views of the building and surrounding golf course is for golfers only. Not the best first impression but maybe a relfection on how the hotel treats it's guests.

The hotel reception is small, unfriendly, old decoration and rather sad. On arrival at the room the first thing that you notice is a terrible smell - very foisty and damp. The decor is old and looks like nothing has been changed for 20 or so years. The bathroom was dusty, the bath not clean, full of gold taps and the wood surrounding the wash basin was cracked with age and use. In the bedroom everything is brown including brown net curtains that were falling down at the large windows which overlooked the road to the back car park. We found later that the bed and pillow was extremely uncomfortable and temperature of the room too high and uncontrolable.

We made a reservation for dinner at reception - they though it best we did so - we arrived at 8.00pm to find we were the only diners apart from a large 60th birthday party. The Italian restaurant (which seems to have nothing Italian on the menu) is housed in a large glass conservatory extension where the carpet is worm and torn in places. Again the decor is out of date and dull - but maybe the food will be worth it!??

We were asked to go into the restaurant immediately but we said we would prefer to have a drink in the bar area. The waiting staff then forgot all about us and we did find staff and asked for menus they bought pudding menus and disappeared. We found the correct menus oursleves.

It is clear that the waiting staff are not trained and they have very little knowledge of procedure, service and food on the menu. Each time something was bought to the table we were greeted with 'here you go!' Our starter was OK. The main course was terrible - one of the dishes was cold and the sauce congealed, no waiting staff came back to the table so one of us left the 'italian' restaurant and went back to the bar to find all the waiting staff and the 'manager' at the bar chatting. They replaced the meal by warming the lamb so was now over cooked, and producing another sauce which was tasteless - they offered new vegetables and bought the wrong replacement dish. We ordered wine and had to remind them, when bought to the table and poured it into a glass - no tasting or even showing us the bottle was what had been ordered. We ordered bread with our starter (charged item) they then brought extra bread rolls, which looked like burgers buns, with our main course which we sent away.

It was clear that we did not enjoy the experience - the restaurant manager (wearing the red shirt) did ask us what we thought of the meal, he said he knew about the main course being returned, so did not want to discuss what was wrong. He was told that we had not enjoyed the experience at all and he had no apology nor did he want to understand what was wrong. The waiting staff did ask if everthing was alright at the end of the meal but it obvious that they have no training and do not know what to do when a customer says no.

Additionally to bad service, very poorly cooked food the atmosphere and decor is cold and unfriendly.

The restaurant manager knew we were unhappy but did not offer any explaination or even a complimentary cup of coffee!! Not that we would have wanted to try the coffee at this point.

We decided to find another hotel in the area and booked out the following morning. We would have taken our experience further but we found reception was closed, so left a message with the restuarant manager that we were booking out the following morning. We did try breakfast which again was a mistake - no one had heard of herbal or fruit tea - cooked breakfast was cold in parts and overcooked, some items on the plate had not been ordered, coffee was available in a heated jug had obviously been brewing for hours.

As our wedding was at noon we did not have time in the morning to ask to see the management but intend on writing to them directly. The staff attitude was extremely disappointing the only friendly member of staff was the young lady who served us breakfast - at least she tried - but again had no training.

Overall, old tried decor, foisty & damp smelling bedroom, dusty bathroom, poorly cooked food, dull atmosphere and very bad service!! Extremely disappointing and stressful experience.

  • Liked — Surrounding countryside but still able to hear M4
  • Disliked — Bed service, unfriendly, dull, out of date decor, bathroom, and terrible food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CandP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

This hotel was so lovely it even exceeded our expectations. Our family of five stayed in three rooms, which were all beautifully decorated with plenty of space, comfortable beds and old stone walls that gave each room character. Dinner Friday night was excellent with a wide range of choice on the menu; everyone loved their meal. The bar is always open with friendly staff, and the hotel manager went out of his way to help us when one member of our party mistakenly made a reservation for the wrong night. We couldn't have been happier and will certainly return again.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and friendly service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahbethuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The hotel itself is in a beautiful setting and is no doubt fabulous if you are staying there for the golf. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful (in fact, they were by far the best thing about this hotel!). However, I'd booked a table at their Italian restaurant that night for eight friends (at a reasonable 8pm) and there was hardly anything on the menu! Rather than saying what WASN'T on the menu, it was easier to ask what WAS on it! Needless to say, it was a fairly disappointing experience. Other than that, the room was OK but nothing more (and was VERY dated) and did not have a fridge. I was there to do the dragon ride cyclosportive and would probably look elsewhere if I do the race next year...if it wasn't for the incredibly friendly staff I would have given this a one or two star rating.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank turbopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pencoed
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#2 of 8 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
5.7 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 8 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mary's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mary's Hotel

Property: St. Mary's Hotel
Address: St. Mary's Hill, Pencoed CF35 5EA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pencoed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pencoed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mary's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your St. Mary's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Marys Hotel
St. Mary's Hotel Pencoed, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing