We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish yet cosy retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pencoed, Vale of Glamorgan, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blueskyFr...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stylish yet cosy retreat”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Cwtch was everything we had hoped and more. Set in a lovely rural location yet with easy access to Cardiff and the Welsh coast it was the perfect base for our weekend. Sue & Steve have created a fantastic space in which to relax, with a huge comfortable bed, well-equipped kitchen & stylish living area.
The welcome-pack included everything to make a full Welsh breakfast, In fact enough for two days, pus a tasty meat & cheese platter and bottle of wine.
Often it is the little thoughtful touches that make a difference, and there was no shortage of these at the Cwtch. The toiletries in the shower-room were lovely, slippers & robes were a nice touch & the wood-burning stove ready to light made us wish it had been cold enough to need it!
We cannot recommend a stay here highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2017
Thank you both, we are so glad that you found everything that you needed at The Cwtch and when you get comments like yours it makes all the hard work worth while, so thank you again.
We very much look forward to meeting you again when you are in south wales
Best regards
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete S
San Francisco, California
1 review
“A private & modern retreat at a historic location”
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Steve and Sue made me welcome from the start! The Cwtch is a very well appointed and designed place for two to enjoy the locale in South Wales. I was visiting family & I appreciated the privacy and comfort afforded to me with the accommodation. It is highly recommended and I will be looking to stay here once again when I visit my folks on my next visit to the UK & home.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2017
Thank you Pete for a great review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay back home in South Wales and the comforts that The Cwtch has to offer. It was a pleasure to go in the cottage after you left and the immaculate way in which it was found, so thank you so much for that.
Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back at any time.
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz H
1 review
“A stunning place to stay!”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The property is outstanding and the owners have gone to great lengths to make sure that this is the perfect place to stay. With the lovely coastline of the Gower and the shopping centre in Cardiff we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The extra added touches
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thank you both for your review of "The Cwtch" and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your short time with us, your kind comments and we are glad that you were able to visit a few of the sites that South Wales has to offer.

Many thanks again and it was great to meet you both
Sue and Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caralley9...
1 review
“The Cwtch”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Cwtch for a weekend at the start of October. The place was very modern and a perfect size for a couple located in the lovely grounds of the old rectory. The property was exceptionally clean and to a high standard. We received a five star treatment during our stay with a meat/cheese board, bottle of wine and many other treats on arrival. The gorgeous Cwtch enabled us to have the relaxing and cosy weekend that we needed. During our stay, we took a trip down to the Gower Peninsula and went to the 'Three Cliffs Bay' then on to Rhossilli, this was the show stopper. The views were incredible and only about an hour drive from the property.

We would definitely recommend taking a trip here and no doubt we will be back again ourselves one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Sue and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us recently and that you enjoyed our welcome pack, which we believe is the best way of welcoming our guests, many who have travelled some way to South Wales and “the Cwtch”. We are glad that the weather was kind to you as well and you were able to enjoy the delights of the Gower (which is such an easy journey from our location and close proximity to the M4) and there are so many other exciting places to visit, when you come next time.

Many thanks
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The extras you don't normally get. The thick bath sheets and hotel quality bed linen. The bathroom products and the thick floor rugs. The welcome pack.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Sue and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us at The Cwtch, it was a shame that the weather was not better and you could not have stayed longer.
Our welcome pack is an important part of our cottage letting experience and we are glad that you enjoyed everything that we provided.
There is so much to see in this part of south wales and so near the capital with all that Cardiff has to offer, but we were pleased that you had the opportunity to explore our gardens, and the historic church, site of the roman camp and castle mound behind the cottage.
We hope that you have a safe trip home and so pleased that we were able to have been included as one of the highlights of your UK tour.

Many thanks
Steve and Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
973daisy
basingstoke
2 reviews
“All you expected and more!”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Wonderful place to stay, 10 minutes from motorway but feel as if you are in middle of nowhere, Very well equipped and comfortable, Hosts Steve and Sue very helpful. Ideal base for sightseeing and shopping. Welcome hamper very much appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2016
Thank you both for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the benefit of being close to the M4, which was great for your sightseeing trips around this stunning part of South Wales.
We look forward to welcoming you back at any time
Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali B
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The most amazing place”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at the Cwtch for three days over August bank holiday weekend. From start to finish we could not have asked for anything more. The cottage is totally beautiful and the attention to detail is outstanding. Everything is of the best quality and the little touches, like the welcome pack and the kindness of the owners, make it even better.
The house is in a small hamlet and offers total peace but is just half an hour away from the centre of Cardiff so you really get the best of both worlds.
We will be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2016
Sue and I are so glad that you enjoyed the food hamper and your stay with us and also for your very kind comments. We are glad that you were able to do so much and found our location perfect for travelling to Cardiff and the stunning beaches of the Gower
It would be a delight to welcome you back at any time and look forward to seeing you soon.
Many thanks Steve and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing