We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms in desperate need of refurbishment.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Saints Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Three Saints Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontyclun
Vale Of Glamorgan, South Wales, Uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rooms in desperate need of refurbishment.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on Saturday 8th March as we were attending a birthday party nearby. Upon arrival the man on reception was very friendly he checked us and off we went. Room 13! The bed was awful you could feel every spring so we asked to be moved. Again the man was very nice and gave us room 6. The bed was much better. Both rooms decor was awful very very dated with carpet in the bathroom!! The price is very steep for the quality.
On the plus side the shower was very powerful and hot, breakfast was standard English but really good and all staff were friendly. Needs a desperate upgrade to rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cluky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    24
    11
    42
See reviews for
30
45
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brithdir
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay over - tripadvisor reviews were enough to deter! Food not bad though the kept warm buffet looked far less appetising than the pre ordered Christmas meal. Facilities grimy - glad not to have needed to use them repeatedly. Colleagues suggested this place had come a long way since it's rough and ready reputation of several years ago - if this is the case then I'm glad to have only been a recent visitor. Husband remained in the car when collecting us and watched two "ladies" fighting in the car park before we went out to the car. Rough and ready would be my summary. Our party had scrubbed up well for their party and were significantly overdressed for the venue.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank pinktomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onkar S, General Manager at Three Saints Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi Their

Firstly may I say thank you fro your comments, we appreciate all feedback and always try to act upon them. Thank you for coming to our premise for xmas work party, we hope you had a great time and enjoyed the food.

Regarding the comment about the world buffet, we always have a high majority of clients that love our buffet and if you had some then we believe you would have enjoyed it.

The hotel for many years before the current owners did have reputation of rough and ready however our clients in the restaurant and bar currently have a great time.

Stating our place as grimy describes that grimy is not fair reflection as you are stating that this premise is "Run down" when a lot of work as been spent inside to make it an ideal area for clients and party goers to come and linking the previous owners reputation to ours may have had sway in your review.

When in any Xmas party when alcohol is involved then people may be in situations as result of the alcohol. If any incidents is reported to us be inside or outside near the doors of the premise then we will deal with it as best as we can.

However the Hotel cannot be responsible for clients activity such as you described hence cannot be a fair reflection on the hotel, this this doesn't not make us Rough and Ready.

Again thank you for coming and if you would like to contact me direct then please as I would like your experience next time to be a great one and if I can make that happen then please let me know.

Take Care

Onkar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pontyclun hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
lincoln
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night as I had to visit the Royal Glamorgan Hospital which just down the road.
On arrival I asked for a quiet room as I am a light sleeper. Unfortunately the heating in the room was not working so I had to move to another which was far from quiet.
My sleep was disturbed due to the various noises from adjacent rooms which in conjunction with a very hard mattress meant that I did not sleep well.
Much of the Hotel is very tired and in places grubby, for example the light switch in room 5 was caked in grime which I would suggest had accumulated over a period of years.
I ate at Hotel (they offer a 50 dish buffet from around the world) and I would recommend the Indian food, by comparison the Chinese food ranged from average to dire what's more all of it was too salty for my taste.
The breakfast was very good as were the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impulsivearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a work trip where the choice of hotel wasn't mine and although the experience wasn't awful, I wouldn't care to repeat it all that soon.

Room was large enough but very cold until I turned the heater on, a lighter was left in the room (?), the door knob had come clean off the room door and not been replaced and the bathroom was very draughty. Ventured down to the buffet dinner and regretted it - cheap kids party foods like turkey dinosaurs aren't all that appealing to me. Not worth the £12 I paid for the few bits I didn't mind eating.

Staff friendly enough but I overheard a young man asking the owner for a wifi password to be told "I don't know, there's probably one" which seemed a little ridiculous as they boast free internet access. No connection in room without said password - fine for me but possibly frustrating for those who need it for work etc.

Overall an adequate place to stay and clean enough but just not quite good enough for a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkYogi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very easy to find - just up the road from The Royal Mint.Close to the Historic town of Llantrisant - it,s well worth taking in the Town. Plenty of parking,.fantastic buffet breakfast freshly cooked and tasty. Very clean but tired - refurb is taking place would hope they get rid of the carpets in the bathroom and put a bin in there.The staff are very friendly and helpful - would have no trouble recommending it but would be prepared to pay a bit more when upgraded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was calling at this hotel from few days to book a room but always one guy picks ma call sounding drunk as if he was saying I am in bar and disconnecting a my call 3 times this a disrespectful thing I ever experienced in my life while staying in so many hotels worldwide.....
RIP 3saints.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

If you need something that will put a roof over your head but little more this is the place. The rooms where tierd and a damp but clean. TVs worked and the water was warm. The bar was open late and lively. The staff were very helpful and friendly making it an acceptable place to crash.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMickyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
3.0 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
3.9 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Wyndham Arms
The Wyndham Arms
#1 of 9 in Bridgend
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
7.4 mi away
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bridgend (M4, J35) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Saints Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Saints Hotel

Property: Three Saints Hotel
Address: Llantrisant Business Park | Opposite Royal Mint, Pontyclun CF72 8YT, Wales (Formerly Black Prince Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pontyclun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Three Saints Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Three Saints Hotel. We are a friendly family run hotel situated in South Wales on the M4 corridor who pride ourselves on customer service. The Three Saints Hotel has 35 en-suite bedrooms. We have a choice of Twin, Double and Family rooms. All rooms come with tea and coffee making facilities, colour television and comfortable beds. We have free WiFi throughout the hotel, bar and restaurant. Breakfast consists of a Full English buffet style breakfast or a range of healthy cereals and fruit. We cater for individuals, groups and corporate bookings. We have an extensive bar and Indian menu. Our traditional style pub has great a range of drinks and large screen for those big matches and is available to all our guests . Are you a contractor or business person? We are well suited for contractors and business people alike. We offer 35 en-suite bedrooms, which is perfect for accommodating contractors and corporate groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Three Saints Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Saints Hotel
Three Saints Pontyclun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing