We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”
Review of Fox and Hounds Inn

Fox and Hounds Inn
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Pontyclun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $39
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Welsh
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Yet another enjoyable lunch at the Fox and Hounds,Llanharri/Llanharry. Never yet had a meal that disappointed. Good food, good company, good surroundings, what more could we ask?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    25
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Been here on several occasions and always been more than happy with the food and the friendly service

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhydian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

John (the landlord) was able to change his table settings at short notice to fit my family in for Sunday lunch today. He has his wife were extremely friendly when we arrived and seated us immediately. Turkey, beef and lamb dinners were lovely, as were the desserts.

The staff were friendly, the interior has been very nicely made over, though it doesn't perhaps have quite the feel of the exterior. Definitely worth returning!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshCouple13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A place for a special Sunday lunch!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A place for a special Sunday lunch! As was my birthday yesterday with my family. Great welcome from the staff and at least 3 real ales. I had the roast beef with a "Smiley "Yorkshire pudding! Photos on Facebook !!!! The veg was cooked just right and very tasty as was the thick proper gravy! As I did not have the lamb I did not try the mint sauce but I am assured it is real mint! A really nice lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LewPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and even better service!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have eaten here on a number of occasions when we visit her family who live nearby. The food has always been first class and the owners run a very friendly and efficient service. They are more than happy to wrap the bones to take home for the dog! Easily the best pub/restaurant in the Llanharry area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexgsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds Inn also viewed

Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Cowbridge, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Fox and Hounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing