We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stopped for a meal...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Countryman Inn

The Countryman Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Countryman Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Pontyclun B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stopped for a meal...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were staying elsewhere locally and needed a hearty meal after the days traveling. Location wise its off the beaten track and we drove passed it twice before realizing it was open, on entering the restaurant we were welcomed but it was presumed we were for a room, once that was settled we were handed to a waitress and seated. The restaurant was clean and tidy but lacked any character or feeling and despite the open fire left us a bit cold. Food wise, I think the chef is trying too hard, Garlic Chicken was ordered and this is what I got, a very large semi sliced chicken breast swimming in garlic sauce. Sadly the chicken breast was defrosted as its flesh was rubbery and chewy. The garlic sauce whilst not over powering was excessive. On completing the meal and due to lack of atmosphere we retired to our lodgings elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid traveling to this location via Beddau as the roads are hazardous at night. Use the Glamorgan H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
11
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

just stayed at the countryman inn for two nights over easter, best place we've stayed for years, recently stayed at a 'country house hotel' which was much more expensive and was nowhere near as good! Beautiful, spotlessly clean room, lovely and warm and with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was great and the other evening meals we had were spot on, large portions and perfectly cooked. John, the owner was very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for him, he very kindly put a bottle of champagne (we brought with us) on ice and provided glasses so that we could enjoy the champagne in our room. We will definitely return and would recommend this inn to everybody! Beautiful countryside setting with fishing lakes and lovely country walks, Cardiff within half an hour, the best of both worlds. Can't find a bad word to say about the countryman inn and I'm a fussy devil!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patsy094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I try to stop in rural locations not to far from towns as I like to walk & am sick of Travelodge’s etc. This really is a cracker, jaw dropping location, 10 mins from the town, nice bar, great room fab food and great great hosts. They really do make you feel welcome. Everything seems new and they have great buildings, you can sit outside on the patio overlooking the lake and enjoy your meal while observing the carp breaking the surface, they have Horses in the paddock and hills all around. My appointment was in Caerphilly and took 15mins to get there

Room Tip: Beer great and nice breakfast. I think all the rooms are good from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here while visiting family in Wales. The room was modern and comfortable with plenty of space. It is off the beaten track and has lovely grounds. We took a walk around after (a very nice) breakfast and it is very picturesque and quiet. The welcome and service was excellent, family owned and run we were made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julesie0532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontyclun
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
0.9 mi away
Three Saints Hotel
Three Saints Hotel
#2 of 3 in Pontyclun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.7 mi away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
3.1 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Llechwen Hall Hotel
Llechwen Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Pontypridd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countryman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countryman Inn

Property: The Countryman Inn
Address: Tri-nant Fishery | Llantrisant, Pontyclun CF72 8LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Pontyclun
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pontyclun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Countryman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Countryman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing