We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Fullbrook's Bistro

Fullbrook's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Pontyclun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are a fully air conditioned 36 seater restaurant, with a modern decor and relaxed ambience. We serve simple unpretentious food all cooked fresh to order, complimented by a good selection of fine wines and drinks.We serve everything from fresh ground coffee and a sandwich to our full ala carte evening menu, we also serve our traditional 3 course Sunday lunch. The restaurant lends itself perfectly for private parties and celebrations a set menu can be tailored to your requirements. Come visit us at Fullbrook's Bistro, Pontyclun.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose to eat here based on the wonderful reviews written on trip advisor. Unfortunately, we were rather disappointed. The food was ok but I have had much better sea bass elsewhere. The wine (Sauvignon blanc) was too awful to drink. I tried the 'house wine' instead but that was worse. The service wasn't great despite the fact that there were only another 4 people in the restaurant. Really sorry but we won't be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank weloveoutholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fully123, Owner at Fullbrook's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks for your review...Average! Sorry you did not enjoy your visit to our restaurant,
I was quite surprised by your comments regarding the wine, my first ever complaint about both the wines mentioned. I have a number of clients who actually buy a box of the house for home consumption on a regular basis. As they say "each to their own" If you had mentioned at the time that you were not happy with the wine we would have gladly changed it for you, always much easier to sort out a problem on the night instead of complaining after the event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Fullbrook's Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 256 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Been to this restaurant a few times food is always lovely, however we did notice that prices seemed to have increased since the last time we visited

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Doris3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family and I have eaten at this restaurant on numerous occasions and the food is always fabulous, it is all home-made and Simon and his staff are always really helpful, if you would like something slightly different for example the curry made milder or hotter or you need need a low fat version he will always do his best for you.

We decided to try the Sunday lunch as we had tried just about everything else on the menu, and we were so pleased we did, it was one of the best Sunday lunches we have had anywhere, absolutely delicious, the gravy is to die for, I can‘t believe we haven’t tried it before, we will definitely be returning for another one!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 17AJones44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

What can I say. Visiting the area on business and three of us needed to find somewhere to eat.

Out luck was in when we arrived.

A warm greeting, very clean, friendly, extensive menu, all very nice and three courses for less than £20 each!

Highly recommended, thanks ver much!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fully123, Owner at Fullbrook's Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant.
It's nice to know you enjoyed your visit and we really appreciate
Your comments. We like to think we offer excellent value with our set
Menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Intimate place, where the table is yours for the night, none of this 2 sitting lark, so you feel like you have to rush, or go late. Only 40 or so covers. Lovely relaxed atmosphere, staff were very nice. Food was very good, haddock fish cake was excellent. The steak was very well cooked, nice wine list, the desserts could just do with a little bit more finesse the chocolate mousse was very very dense, but that was all. Really lovely evening out, would definitely go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LibWalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fullbrook's Bistro also viewed

Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Pontyclun, Vale of Glamorgan
Talbot Green, Pontyclun
 
Talbot Green, Pontyclun
Llantrisant, Rhondda Cynon Taf
 

Been to Fullbrook's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing