We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Tadross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tadross Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the tadross and this time we came with the kids who loved the bouncy castle! Family room was big and clean and service was, as always friendly and welcoming, especially from Georgina and Zoe. Will be back next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawniej1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 149 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

stayed here last saturday night,unsure what to expect after reading the mixed reviews the other half thought it looked closed as we pulled up outside the slightly neglected front doors.went in and into the bar area as there was no one on the desk and was greeted by the bar girl who told me they had rooms and after a little negotation we agreed a price for a double for the night.the room was clean as were the towles and bedding all in all a nice clean room good size ensuite and lots of hot water.the t.v had freeview but like the carpet was a little tatty and dated but otherwise i could not fault it and for the price it was a bargain.we had a room overlooking an area of small shops and takeways so when we arrived at 6.30 pm it was noisy and i guess it was if you were the early to bed type but when we turned in at 12.30 it was very quiet in fact the only sounds i heard were the seagulls at 7.00am sunday morning.breakfast is basic tea/coffee and toast/jam so we skipped it and went for a fryup at the local weatherspoons.
would i stay here again? well definatly yes.we have just got a house a mile down the road and will be over most weekends renovating it so untill we have a bathroom/kitchen and at least 1 bedroom finished it may well be our weekend retreat.
one last thing,before we went out for a couple of bevvies and a meal thought we might have one in the bar first,very disapointed that there seemed to be no ales (as opposed to keg beer),so gave it a miss although did have a cider in there just before closing and in every other respect it was a very friendly local bar just dont expect 5* hotel at £40 a night for 2 people

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kusadasikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday night, so it might not have been typical, but I would definitely stay again. The pub is a bit run down, but the room we stayed in was behind the pub next to the beer garden. We had a "twin room" which had a double and a single bed, it was a large bright room, very clean and nicely decorated. The beds were comfortable, and once the pub shut at 11 it was quiet. The staff were very helpful, I was able to bring in a takeaway and eat it in the breakfast room. Breakfast was basic, but at only £55 for 2 of us I was surprised to get breakfast included at all. We got cereal, toast, coffee / tea, juice, yoghurt, apples and I guess you could have as much as you want, because it was self serve.
The area of Barry that it is in is a bit rough, I chose it because it's an easy walk from the train station at Barry Dock and I was just going to be visiting friends, but if you're looking for a clean & quiet place to crash for the night this is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the tadross hotel.. On arrival was a lil deubious... Went in to b greated by a friendly, polite receptionist who told us car park was cctv operated.... Went to our room wat can i say it was spotless... Before we went on our nite out in cardiff we had a drink in the pub which is part of the tadross.. Bar staff friendly and a great beer and great locals tht made us feel welcome.... All in all a gd stay... It is what is states to be... Self serve breakfast... And has everything u wud want for an over nite stay... Wud defo go back nothing to be deubious about

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppy0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived at the Tadross to be greeted by broken glass in the car park and take away restaurants everywhere. Checked in and were shown to our room out the back next to the beer garden which was permanently full of drunks until gone midnight. The shower door fell off, no toilet roll holder, a shelf missing with the screws still sticking out of the wall and the shower had no pressure. The breakfast consists of toast, strawberry yoghurt and orange juice!!! The pub itself was ok if a bit rough and had blood splatters on the wall and more drunks hitting a punchbag until late at night. Not one other guest was brave enough to even come in for a drink while we were there as they all brought their own take aways and went straight to their room and I cant blame them. I wouldn't fancy walking back late at night either as the area was not the most inviting. How this can be described as a hotel is beyond belief and I wouldn't stay again if it was free. Just to make sure you know I am not a nit-picker see my other reviews. The only good thing was the lady behind the bar who was always smiling and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picture1Tredegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadrosshotel, Manager at Tadross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Everything valid in your review has been addressed and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards
Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for our trip to see Rihanna ,absolutly spot on staff are really friendly and down to earth chatted away to us made us feel at home, we had a family room plenty of space for the 3 of us and bargain price ,spotless cant think of any negatives at all will defo stay again if we attend more concerts at the millenium .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louuluuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadrosshotel, Manager at Tadross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay, Hopefully if your ever in the area again you will use our hotel.

Thanks again,
Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I go to the Speedway G.P. every year and I have stayed at this hotel for the past eight years. The hotel is very clean and the people are very friendly. I have stayed in Cardiff before but they are not a patch on the Tadross even though they charge more than double for a night. I have already booked up for next year and I would not think of staying any where else. We always spend a long weekend when we go and we are well looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 763Frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadrosshotel, Manager at Tadross Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review. See you next year for the speedway,

Kind regards
Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry
1.5 mi away
The Mount Rooms
The Mount Rooms
#4 of 5 in Barry
73 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aberthaw House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
3.5 mi away
Cefn Mably Hotel
Cefn Mably Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penarth
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tadross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tadross Hotel

Address: 271 Holton Road, Barry CF63 4HT, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Price Range: $55 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tadross Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tadross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tadross Hotel Barry, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing