We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great value day out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barry Island Pleasure Park

Barry Island Pleasure Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.27*
and up
Gavin and Stacey TV Locations Tour of Barry Island
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Barry
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Barry Island Pleasure Park. A funfair. Under new ownership. Fun for all the family at bargain prices
2 reviews
“great value day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

beautiful walks out to the point and around to Jackson bay some really good amusement arcades. we found a little gem for coffee / hot chocolate etc and food, called coffee cove well worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Pete1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    124
    98
    38
    39
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
184 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great for an out of season dog walk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Visited in the first few days of January and were lucky enough to have a beautifully sunny day and even managed an ice cream!!! The beach is much improved in recent years and is now very clean to walk along. Dogs are allowed October - April so its brilliant to go for a walk to the top of the Headland. The theme park is a little aged but the landscaping makes it pleasant to visit. All the usual seaside attractions such as crazy golf and shops selling beach toys. Don't miss the Gavin and Stacey hotspots!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fionaandcez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
452 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Reminiscent of a bye gone era”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Sad really for those of us who came years ago. Today it offers a glimpse of how it used to be. Disney is the bench mark of the current era and Disney it is not. But for a bit of fun with the little ones or a stroll down memory lane it's not so bad. WE were here over Xmas so lots of decorations cheered the place up but there's no getting away from the bits that have not had a make over in a while. There was a bracing wind but thankfully no rain and it was nice to be by the sea for a while. Most of the shops and restaurants were already closed so home again we went for a glass of mulled wine! Perhaps again in the summer when the weather is better and more is happening down here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank palmpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It's great to go walking here and get some fresh air”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a great place to go for a walk and Barry Island beach has lots of sand and cafes so it's got a lot to offer to a variety of people. You can get to it by car, bus and train and it's not far from Cardiff Wales Airport.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Purryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barry Island SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

we went to Barry Island to do our coursework. we found it dull, boring, empty, dirty, dreary, wet, grey and generally awful!!!! WILL NEVER COME HERE AGAIN!!!! THAT IS ONE DAY OF MY LIFE I WILL NEVER GET BACK!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barry Island Pleasure Park also viewed

Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to Barry Island Pleasure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing