We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barry island premier inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After a very shaky start I would recommend this hotel just a little advice DO NOT FORGET YOUR I.D!! Having drove for 5 hours thru the Friday night traffic around Bristol and all the way to Cardiff on arrival at the hotel armed with confirmation printed out thru BOOKINGS.COM with the same visa card as printed on confirmation via email I was told no photo i.d no booking (oh, unless I happened to have a utility bill on me!) Not impressed to say the least.. Having eventually spoke to the Manager at home! some 30 mins after I was allowed to stay in my £188 for 2 nights Family room.
Rant over..
Car park, large, well spaced, clean with good lighting and security.
Reception, clean with useful vending machines. Hotel general appearance very good and clean. Room 8 we had, sold as a Family quad room. It was there bog standard double room with 2 extra beds put in which meant no room at all to move, my only frustration was I did send an email asking if the kids extra beds were proper beds or zbeds! I got no reply from them. Room was clean and the double bed comfortable but one of the 2 kids beds was unsleepable.
After my problems on arrival all members of staff were friendly and helpful. The eatery next door was good value for money and was also clean and tidy. I would recommend this hotel to all users.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 781 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just stayed for 3 days at the new Premier Inn Barry Island. Best Premier Inn I've been to so far. Great parking, great staff and all the typical benefits (e.g. wi-fi) that you get in this hotel chain. Must admit that the staff were the friendliest and chatty I've yet to encounter at any Premier.
Had evening buffet meals at the adjoining Brewers Fayre which was excellent value for money. Breakfast again was excellent value.
Certainly the next time I travel to S Wales (Cardiff way) I will be booking back into this hotel. Well done Premier Inn Barry Island!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just returned from this premier inn very clean nice location. Brewers fayre next door good selection of food. Buffet was great lots to choose from . It is a shame that barry island does not offer the best in entertainment. I hope that the 70 million pound investment comes sooner than later. The town is looking very tired

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank thenathboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed with my children here and came away rested and relaxed .....! . A great location , very clean , good parking and very helpful staff. Breakfast in the Brewers fare next door was excellent and Im still full from all the food, the selection was unexpected. We also had a cavery meal at the brewers fare next door and from the bottomless coffee to the tasty food we wernt disapointed .Here too the staff were attentive and helpful.,My kids want to go back again in July ( its close to my mum ) and I will have no hesitation to re-book. We had a triple room , good for us as I have a boy and a girl (kingsize and two singles). Lifts to all floors.
Good base for cardiff , the airport and beaches along the coast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyW500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

very nice situation
easy to park and go
nice food
big bedroom
wifi free but only 30 minutes Pity you can't open the windows at all!!! You can't moove the shower so it's not easy you have to turn yourself instead oif turning the shower


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

From booking the hotel on line to leaving it after a good night's sleep, my experience with Premier Inn was first class! This hotel is newly opened, has very friendly staff and is located not far from the train station. My only regret is that I was only staying for one night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Convenient, adjacent restaurant of good standard.
Friendly staff.Good rooms. Plenty car parking spaces. Local railway station nearby. Close to town center and within walking distance of Barry Island Beach.



  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ednkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry
0.5 mi away
The Mount Rooms
The Mount Rooms
#4 of 5 in Barry
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
1 mi away
Tadross Hotel
Tadross Hotel
#5 of 5 in Barry
151 reviews
4.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel

Address: Triangle Site Hood Road | Fford Y Mileniwm the Waterfront, Barry CF62 5QN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Barry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Barry
Price Range: $59 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're seeking the seashore or sampling the delights of the city, Premier Inn Hotel Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) puts you in prime position. Perfect for exploring the capital, coast and countryside. Zip into central Cardiff. Bust out the bucket and spade. Go behind the scenes on the Gavin and Stacey tour. Or take a wild ride at the Pleasure Park. And when it's time for some shut eye, return to our spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds Directions: From M4 take exit 33 for A4232, follow signs for A4050, then pass through 8 roundabouts, turn left onto Trinity Street, then turn right onto A4055/Broad Street. Continue for 0.2 Miles and turn left for the Premier Inn. Transport and local information: Barry Rail Station 0.4 Miles Barry Island Rail Station 1.2 Miles Barry Docks Rail Station 1 mile Cardiff-Wales International Airport 3.5 Miles National Museum Cardiff 9.5 Miles St. Fagans National History Museum 7.5 Miles Barry Memorial Hall Theatre 0.8 Miles Odeon, Cardiff 8 miles Fonmon Castle 5.4 Miles Porthkerry Country Park 2 miles Barry Island/Amusement World 1 mile The Knap Beach 1 mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Barry Island (Cardiff Airport) Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing