We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very friendly place to shop”
Review of High Street

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Barry
Attraction details
Barry Wales
Level Contributor
176 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a very friendly place to shop”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a wonderful small high street with lots of independant shops whch I like in a high street much nicer than see the same old brand names it has a great butchers with hopkins a good deli great florist ood places to eat and at christmas it always looks wonderful with the lights

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryWalesAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    22
    8
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mini village”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I love this street. It reminds me of a mini Clifton in Bristol. I go there on a regular basis. Love giving my trade to all these lovely shops. Some of the choices are: butcher, post office, florest, greengrocer, newsagents, chemist, hardware, deli's, cafe's, resteraunts, bars, estate agents, indian, chinese etc etc. Beautiful gift shops and botiques including charity shops with great quality merchandise. Parking is free!

Helpful?
Thank Poolie8667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Hopkins the butchers shop”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Loverly family run little shop, Vic had this shop for many years, before handing it down to his son Anthony (hoppy)
Great selection of fresh meats, and the sausages (Royal Welsh) are the best.
Don't bother with your supermarket rubbish, try the best.
Ps more purple lollies please Hoppy!!!

Helpful?
Thank Stretch7158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great selection of shops”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great selection of shops with fab deli and gift shops. Lovely boutiques for clothes and always feel welcome in whichever shop I visit

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

typical sopping street with many little hideabouts.
It has the same shops one would find in any other UK city

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank terrencets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Street also viewed

Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to High Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing