We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sutton Mawr Farm
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel(Wenvoe)(Great Value!)
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(Penarth)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
53
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
3
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 56 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visiting family in Rhoose, we ended up in the Brecon Suite (upgraded because we were the only ones there and had our baby daughter with us), which was absolutely perfect. Our room was enormous, with plenty of space to hang out after the baby went to sleep. The kid room has a bunk bed and they moved a cot (crib, to us Americans) in for our daughter, which made it a tight fit, but it didn't matter at all, since she only slept in there. The bathroom was large enough for a family, and the suite is separate from the other guest rooms, so even if there had been others there they would not have heard our daughter hollering as she slowly acclimated to the 6-hour time change. Breakfasts were amazing - fresh bread, fresh croissants, fruit, yogurt, excellent ham and smoked salmon, cheese, tons of kinds of cereal. We felt bad we didn't eat more of it! Vicci also left us a homemade cake each night, which was a great treat after a long day visiting family. Mark gave us a tour of the farm one morning and let my son gather eggs, see new lambs and young pigs, feed the chickens, and pet the cows. We have decided to make this our go-to B&B every time we visit the family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuseoffireAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I visited Sutton Mawr with a huge group of friends to celebrate a hen party. It was perfect, what I imagine Cath Kidston's house to look like. Great hosts, wonderful food, beautiful rooms, excellent facilities and stunning location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage, which sleeps six and would be great for a family. We had our own kitchen. All the rooms are beautiful, take your pic.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were lucky enough to book the complex for our son's wedding party. Lovely rooms, super breakfasts, great staff and ambience. Nothing was too much trouble for Mark, Vicci and all the staff. They produced a wonderful post wedding lunch for 50 people, set in the courtyard, on the Sunday. The sun shone all week-end too! Many thanks, a wonderful base for our age group - from 9 weeks to 90 years old!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Christine_B332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

...... even better than I remember it!

The twins were celebrating their 21st whilst there.

Anita was amazing ... and, on realising this was a special occasion, appeared at the back door of The Cottage with a surprise cake for them. The cake was delicious. Thank you. It made a happy evening on the BBQ very special.

Anita's brother told us where to go shopping for the best meats and ingredients for the BBQ. Thanks to him, too for all he did. A fabulous brother and sister team.

We stayed in the same room as before, and it was just as comfy. Even the fact that this place has been "discovered", the people who go are fun, chatty and great to talk to.

Breakfast was just as good. Homemade bread, freshly carved ham, cheese, home-baked croissants, loads of different homemade jams and marmalade, different cereals and Greek yoghurt. Actually, nothing was too much to do. We chose not to have the cooked breakfasts, but walking into the breakfast room means walking past the open-plan kitchen. The smell was fantastic. The kitchen cleaner than mine (that is difficult) and the camaraderie coming out of there is brilliant.

We did have an accident with one of their bowls, and there was not the "sucking of teeth" that you can get at places who are trying to be something they are not, but a genuine concern for the person who broke it - asking if they were ok etc. What a response to damage to their property!

I do not want you all booking this place out so we cannot get in .... but you must visit it. Dogs are very welcome .... it is a working farm, so my cautionary note must be PLEASE keep them under control, pick up after them and just remember that you are representing all dog owners, not just yourselves!

Room Tip: If you have a certain need for a room, do ring them and chat to them. They are extremely approachable.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solbarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This place is heavenly: Fantastic attention to detail in every aspect of the rooms, decor and service. Vicci and Mark could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. Mark's tour of the farm was a highlight for the kids and breakfast was delicious.
We were going into the Millenium stadium to watch the Olympic football which was an easy journey of around 20 minutes. The taxi cost around £20 each way.
Overall we can't speak highly enough of this peaceful country B+B which would work equally well as a relaxing retreat for a week in the countryside or a base from which to explore Cardiff and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeanandPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews