We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Star Shepherds Hut”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy S
devon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“5 Star Shepherds Hut”
Reviewed September 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have stayed in a couple of shepherds huts before on other sites, but this one is a quality hut with en suite and with the plus of the boathouse come kitchen diner with log burner
If you like walking this is perfect for you, many walks from the hut no need to drive as there are footpaths a canal and Offa's dyke to walk
We did walk and chilled out on site very peaceful and the breakfast is amazing
We will be back many thanks for a great week

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and the lake farm big breakfast. Yes the walks are lovely, we often spend our time walking the hills. Thank you for leaving our hut so tidy. And please do come stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bindy V
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Aniversary present”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Just got back from the hut it was a present from our daughters for our 10th wedding aniversary didnt want to come home it was so lovely ideal for couples that just want a chilled ot weekend was made to feel so welcome by Charlotte and Martin and the breakfast,s were so lovely we had a continental breakfast on the first morning and a full english the day of our return both were fantastic the bed so comfy too and the hut it self was lovely and warm you dont just get the hut you get the outside space all to your self theres loads of places to eat and welshpool is just a 10 min drive away we had no complaints it was great had a out side fire and a night cap every night if you want to get away from everthing this is the place cant fault it cant waite to go back thank you to Charlotte and Martin for a lovely time and Charlotte,s mom for the lovely cooked breakfast and your kind welcome.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thank you for coming to stay, you were fantastic guests, and we really hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmacass1...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quirky, cosy & idyllic”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My partner has been desperate to stay in a shepherd's hut and booked this as a pre back to work treat. We only stayed for one night but we really wished we'd booked another night!

Everything was done to perfection: the hut was beautifully decorated, everything had been catered for and it was a little home from home.

The boathouse is a great idea and we enjoyed sitting outside this with the firepit roaring listening to the silence of the Welsh hills. We look forward to seeing this once the outside kitchen has been added.

We chose the continental breakfast the following morning which was brought to us in the boathouse in a hamper - again, this was done to perfection and set us up for the day!

The owners should be so proud of the retreat they have created. No technology meant an evening of conversation and staring at the stars. What more could you ask for?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The lack of technology and the beautiful decor
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
It was a pleasure having you both stay and also Rupert the dog, hope to see you all again for another stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colin G
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“If you are looking for a noisy place to stay this is the wrong holiday for you!”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We enjoyed a 2-night break in the Shepherd's Hut to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a really lovely stay. The accommodation, though relatively small by the very nature of it, was spacious enough for the two of us. Set in the beautiful hills of Powys and with views to simply die for, this is an experience to be repeated, without a doubt.
we ate in local pub/restaurants for our evening meal, and the food was delicious. I can recommend both the Dolphin at Llanymynach and the Horseshoe Inn at Arddleen, both of which are only a short distance from the site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts and great location.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarylP
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful country getaway”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I booked to stay in the hut for two nights to get away from city life and it was just what the doctor ordered! A stunning location with breathtaking views of the Welsh countryside, including a lovely and lively pond just outside the front door! The hut itself is fantastic; compact and cosy but with everything you could need to make your stay comfortable including a powerful shower and very comfy bed plus little details like a hairdryer and games to play on a rainy day. A lot of thought has gone into everything and it really shows.
Charlotte and Martin made us feel extremely welcome and were great at answering any questions we had about anything!

We hope to be back soon for another getaway! Thank you both x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
It was a pleasure to have you stay, and look forward to you visiting again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diverjohn...
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Briliant!”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Last minute booking, very very nice people, great shepherd's hut the design and quality of hut was A1, you're really made to feel welcome, very good breakfast, plentiful too.
We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the people there
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing