We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a coffee”

The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newtown Powys
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for a coffee”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Coffee bar is OK...they serve Costa. Restaurant food is very lack-lustre. We had a Sunday lunch....poor, greyish meat & over-cooked veg.

Helpful?
Thank Jacki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    61
    37
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Varied menue and helpful service”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

very accomodating when arriving late on a busy evening. Prompt service with a plentiful choice of quality dishes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank pickytripers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service and great food”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A modern hotel restaurant which has great quality and service. Don't let the exterior fool you on the inside its a mixture of old world and modern. The same goes for the food and local ales. Our family loves stop-over whenever we are in the area. Just try it you won't be disappointed we have never been!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DazMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I regulary visit this restarant with family and friends for food or just a coffee. I like the cosy and comfortable surroundings and always find the staff very helpfull. Although there is not a wide variety of choice available, i have rarely been dissapointed with the food served. I wouild recommend this restarant to all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyDavies22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent food, contemporary menu”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very good quality, service and value.

The restaurant is modern, yet old world, with quirky deep leather seating, well stocked bookshelves to browse, either before your meal, or afterwards, enjoying your dessert.

The meals were excellent, with a limited, but tantalising choice.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank charlotteleclerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Hotel also viewed

 
Guilsfield, Welshpool
Welshpool, Powys
 

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing