We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay 23.8.14” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay 23.8.14”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed overnight at this hotel on 23.8.14. We found it to be fine. There were parts of the hotel that required a bit of TLC. But in general we found the staff and general hotel to be very good. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were particularly friendly and good. We had drinks at the bar which were reasonable and there was a good choice of real ale. We would definetly return to the Royal Oak.

Room Tip: No lifts so lower floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    201
    89
    17
    16
See reviews for
82
227
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

stayed one night. clean nicely furnished room. quite spacious. the room was very warm when we got there but there was a fan, which was quite noisy though. very good shower but no hand soap on the sink! maybe an oversight by housekeeping? luckily we had our own. Don't think carpets in bathrooms are appropriate. tv channels were very limited the bbc station showed weather forecast for the south west somerset etc. the breakfast was good, plenty to choose from. didn't have a meal in the evening because they were only serving roasts. went over the road to spice fusion, very nice curry. would we stay there again? probably.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannyknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed one night - dingy room at the back of the hotel with a broken blind, overlooking a brightly lit hotel corridor below and close to an extractor fan. Bright light all night making sleeping difficult.
Breakfast was average - a weird mix of help yourself and service - when faced with a queue for the single slow toaster, the waiters (very nice guys) offered to make some in the kitchen for our table. We saw other items (scrambled eggs, for example) being delivered to other tables, but no-one told us we could order items.
This was the most expensive place we stayed in on the Owen Glyndwr Way, but about the worst for value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Putterstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Called in just before 3pm just for a toastie and chips. The "chef" obviously leaves exactly 3pm, as our food arrived cold and under toasted. The chips were also missing. Sent food back and waitress returned with our cooked half eaten dinner,now warm but completely unpresentable, to say she hoped it was ok as she had to do it herself! Lovely waitress but will not return.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ksm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was a stopover on my way to the mid Wales cOast. It's an interesting old building, clean and friendly and very basic but right in the heart of a busy town centre with all the issues that brings. Noise - You can't blame the revellers at tables outside for having a great noisy time into the night but it did make getting to sleep tricky. Parking - I pulled up on cobbles to the side of the hotel and was given a map showing how to get to the car park which involved driving round Welshpool twice because I missed the narrow opening first time. The room was very hot and the fan with mo aircon was noisy. Still it was not expensive and good value if you are not looking for anything top if the range.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

The website says - Traditional Welsh Hospitality, Award Winning Real Ales, Fine Wines & Great Food and the marketing had clearly worked because I booked us in and so I really wanted to like the Royal Oak.

It has a great location and parts of the hotel have obviously been refreshed recently (the bar and restaurant and rear entrance/function room corridor) but the rest still needs some work. The upstairs corridor carpet is very worn and marked and does little to deal with the uneven floor beneath it, which means there are a few trip hazards (highlighted by signs) on the way to our room. Our room was clean and tidy and fairly modern but the bath grouting need re-doing and it was very warm despite the little fan which was on when we arrived. The beds were also very soft. The reception staff were friendly and helpful when we were trying to navigate around the busy one-way system to get to the car park at the rear of the hotel and check in and check out were efficient and friendly.

Unfortunately it was the food and restaurant staff that really let the hotel down. I ordered the salmon from the grill menu which came with watercress salad & house chips and my friend order the Pulled Pork with Flour Barn Cake & Jalapeño Slaw from the 'light bites'. When mine arrived it was a totally unseasoned straight grilled salmon fillet with lots of french-style fries and a small pile of undressed watercress. My friend's was a cheap white bread bun filled with pulled pork and slaw and for some mysterious reason on a light bite there were lots of chips on the plate too. We ordered a cheese board to share and realised half way through that there should have been a chutney and some celery with it and when we asked the waiter he came back to say the menu was wrong and it wasn't served like that any more - so just cheese and crackers on the cheese board then, seems unlikely? Was it a new or substitute chef on as it didn't look like they even knew their own menu? The Restaurant team were young and any questions we had they always needed to go and ask someone else. A white wine spritzer was served in a 175ml measure glass so was over filled to get any soda water in it. When we came to check out our drinks from the previous night were wrong which resulted in an over-charge, which they did sort out when we pointed this out.

Breakfast was mildly farcical as we were shown every table for 2 we could choose from and then left to help ourselves to the very poor quality buffet. Despite just needing to seat people ("just choose any available table for 2" would have been fine), bring tea and coffee and keep things topped up the 2 person team seemed utterly flustered. There was one domestic-grade toaster, so a queue quickly formed in the doorway. There was some anaemic looking salami and some tinned fruits, mini cheeses and yoghurts on the continental table. Opposite there was two metal warming pans with all unseasoned fried eggs, fatty bacon, pale oven baked sausages, tomatoes and mushrooms and in a basket beside the hot food there was a selection of bought in patisserie items, still in their individual wrappers and a tray with stale-looking bought in croissants. The sausage, mushrooms and tomatoes I had were all tasteless. Both dinner and breakfast demonstrated that, at least during our visit, there was no passion for food coming out of the kitchen here.

As other reviewers have pointed out there is little accommodation choice in Welshpool and that lack of competition may be the reason this hotel doesn't live up to its potential or the expectation its marketing sets, which is a real shame.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back so it was quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice looking, but medioker town hotel that's a bit run down. The toilet wasn't working, the room was small and needed an update and it was very humid. Though the staff at the hotel was most helpful and service minded. The restaurant, though, wasn't functioning well. Breakfast by buffet, with a helpful manager. Not a place you long to get back to. Off route from Offa's Dyke, 2 miles walk along an old canal.
Didn't go to the castle, but that was supposed to be an attraction (the only one, though).

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's not with a window to the street. It's very noicy in the evening and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaRickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
6.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
15.0 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: The Cross, Welshpool SY21 7DG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak Hotel is a Former 18th Century Coaching Inn formerly built as the Manor House of the Earl of Powys until 1927. We are situated in the Market town of Welshpool, the gateway to Wales and the Historic Powys Castle, a National Trust Property and Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing