We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair for money paid but disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fair for money paid but disappointing”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Firstly the process of booking the hotel was superb and the young lady is commended. We
spent two nights (Fri and Sat) with an average of four hours sleep a night. Had a lovely room 112, very large and well fitted out but above the main bar. We had not known this would be a popular and very noisy venue for music etc (must try harder to check reviews!) On both Friday and Saturday night when sleep finally came at 2am we were woken by disturbances outside (cannot blame hotel) with drunken couples wanting to assault one another at about 330am. The hotel is on High Street (albeit not a very busy one). Welshpool was a stop over to visit other areas but not going to stop there again. On arrival we were presented with a card asking us to ensure we knew the Fire Exit etc from our room. On the photostat card (showing the hotel was also a Best Western?) on the door in the room we were apparently in a room some distance away. As we knew where we were in the event of fire we would not be misled. However, given that hotels are Fire Service inspected I am not sure this was a pass. We tried the restaurant on one night only and felt the staff were in training. The building is a nice old historical one and if it were somewhere else we would enjoy return. Friendly staff. My last comment was about the bathroom. The fan system was not working and was so clogged with dirt and dust it had not been for some time. The edges of the ceiling were all coming away from the edges and may be worthy of repair. To be fair we went on a deal for £89 for two for two nights and you sometimes get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Get a room not over bar or the Powys Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOakWelshpool, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Response by Sam Regan (Senior Manager)

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us.

I'm sorry that your experience whilst you were with us was not an enjoyable one.

At the Hotel we do have live music every Friday night which is very popular with all of our patrons, generally the music runs from 9pm til the absolute latest midnight, I'm sorry if this affected your visit. On the Saturday evening we were playing host to a wedding which does cause some noise disturbance throughout the Hotel, I apologies for this.

The Hotel has regular safety inspections and all of our fire safety instructions have been scrutinised by fire officials on more than one occasion and has been deemed appropriate for the size and layout of the business.

Thank you for bringing to my attention the issues with the fan system within the bathroom, I will ensure that this will be dealt with swiftly and effectively.

I hope you will consider us again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    212
    90
    20
    16
See reviews for
85
241
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on bank holiday weekend, it was very drab and very poorly run, the only staff who seem to have any idea what there job entails is the restaurant staff, they are very attentive and very helpful, the bar staff walk off at a moments notice and leave you standing at the bar, the reception staff are extremely poor in customer service they don't seem to have a clue what's going on. The breakfast was poor to say the least some greasy bacon, sausages and a couple of obliterated things they think resemble eggs! The room was OK but it was close to a single sized bed when it was supposed to be a double, The one thing this hotel has going for it is the Scottish man who works on the reception at night couldn't have been more welcoming! Would not waste my money staying here again I would rather stay further away and travel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOakWelshpool, Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Response by Sam Regan (Senior Manager)

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

All of the point that you have kindly raised will be dealt with, with the utmost importance. As the Senior Manager at the Hotel it is my overall responsibility to ensure that all staff are welcoming, attentive and polite to all customers, which clearly was not good enough during your stay, I apologies for the lack of customer service and ensure you that this is not the norm. I am also putting into place a quality check procedure to ensure that the quality of breakfast is kept to a good standard.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.


Reagrds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed on the weekend of 19th - 21st April. Perhaps needs some TLC but that adds to the character room 112 very spacious and comfortable.
Stayed on a KGB deal. The all included evening meal on the first night was very good. Breakfasts meant you didn't need lunch. Fried eggs were kept warm and therefore hard. However, you have the option to request freshly cooked and the staff were very happy to oblige. In fact all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Happy to recommend to friends and family, ideal for walking in Southern Snowdonia and there are plenty of attractions to visit, Powis Castle is not far away and definitely worth a visit,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuey1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

stayed at this hotel on a KGB deal, the staff where very helpful and friendly could not do enough for you. the evening meal was excellent, also a very good breakfast. would go back to this hotel. a good place in the centre of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulajones534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Recently returned from a stay here. on a KGB Deal.
Excellant value. Were given a very nice and spacious room (112).and the evening meal was very good. staff friendly and helpful.
Have stayed in the area numerous times, makes a good base, Powys Castle worth a visit.
Altogether an enjoyable stay and would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed one night on the company. Pleasant 'Pub Style' Hotel in the centre of Welshpool. The car park is accessed via the one-way system, this took us a while to locate, so call in advance for directions. The hotel seems to be an old coaching inn, it has been tastefully maintained, retaining the old world atmosphere. Yes the floors are creaky, the wooden beamed ceilings are low upstairs and it is a bit of a maze, but this is called CHARACTER. Breakfast was well cooked and the staff were friendly. Location is perfect for exploring this lovely little town.
The company normally put us in Premier Inns, clean and tidy and soulless. I liked the Royal Oak and would definitely stay there with my family in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayteeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A very enjoyable break in Welshpool. The staff were so friendly and helpful at all times. The meals were served hot, with generous portions and enjoyable while the restaurant was modern and clean. The hotel was dated and needs some TLC to make it into a very good place to use as a base when visiting Powys.

Room Tip: !01 is ok but overlooks the town's crossroads
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
6.9 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
15.0 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
9.1 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
12.6 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: The Cross, Welshpool SY21 7DG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak Hotel is a Former 18th Century Coaching Inn formerly built as the Manor House of the Earl of Powys until 1927. We are situated in the Market town of Welshpool, the gateway to Wales and the Historic Powys Castle, a National Trust Property and Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing