We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm, friendly place with lovely staff and food :)”

The Hun Turkish Cuisine
Ranked #19 of 51 Restaurants in Welshpool
Cuisines: Turkish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Erdogan and Rachel Saygili have been the owners of this establishment since July 2013 under the old name of 'Cafe Inglenook'. It has recently undergone a big refurbishment and their newly renovated Restaurant, Cafe and Bar under the new name of 'The HUN Turkish Cuisine' offers beautiful furnishings from Turkey, with an extended sheltered outside eating area which offers a cosy, unique place to eat, drink and relax among friends and family. They invite you to enjoy their delicious array of authentic Turkish and World food, complimented by a selection of wine, beer and spirits, both from Turkey and across the world.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“warm, friendly place with lovely staff and food :)”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited the cafe with my partners family every week for the last 6 months and it is a very lovely cafe, the staff are always nice and very helpful. The food is very nice and there is a lot of variety and trying out the new things on the menu that came with the new lovely owner is very exciting.
I would definitely recommend this cafe to anyone visiting welshpool!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here for lunch late Sunday afternoon on way home from Aberystwyth.
I had very nice homemade cottage pie and my son had a really good homemade macaroni cheese. Both were microwaved to reheat but were lovely and the chips were very good too. Husband had a BLT which came with fresh lettuce / tomato / grated carrot and crisps. Reasonably priced and staff are very friendly. Would definitely visit again, maybe next time will try a Turkish meat roll

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good eating”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This cafe has a cheerful atmosphere, very reasonably priced food that is served with a smile. Have also popped in for coffee and cakes on numrous occasions and have enjoyed it.The outside shelter is great in summer or wet days for sitting out. PLUS it has WiFi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Used to be a really nice place”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Remember this place ages ago, the furnishings are still the same but I presume it has been taken over because its certainly not the same standard of food. Ordered a nut roast with salad....received a very thin, mass produced, over microwaved slice of nut roast, I picked it up and tapped it on the table, it was hard as a brick. The salad consisted of iceberg lettuce, tomato and slices of 'raw courgette'! (Bizarre, perhaps they thought it was cucumber??). We returned the nut roast and received another processed thin slice identical to the last, but thankfully edible. As we paid up and were taking our leave, the waitress said she was sorry about the food......Hmmmm, yes, well so was I. Not recommended, there's plenty of other places to eat in the lovely town of Welshpool.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank public-citizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trewern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a quick stop”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice staff and okay food. Had breakfast here over the weekend as we were unsure if any restaurants in Welshpool would be open by 9am. This place came recommended by a neighbour s so we took the plunge and gave it a go. Simple menu offered all of the basics and my husband was able to mix and match as I also made a substitution. The portions were generous and prices very fair. The place itself needs a make-over and some of the table sauces (was it ketchup or brown sauce in the unlabelled squeeze container?) could use with a wash or served in a better way. I would prefer not to see so many daily items and cleaning products behind the counter and hearing the microwave bell from the kitchen didn't really get my taste buds going... again, the staff were friendly and we were served promptly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hun Turkish Cuisine also viewed

 
Welshpool, Powys
 

Been to The Hun Turkish Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing