We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad food but the service was sooooooo slow!”

The Smithfield Bell
Ranked #18 of 51 Restaurants in Welshpool
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not bad food but the service was sooooooo slow!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked on the phone as was told they were very busy so needed to order food promptly at 12 which we did it then took until 1.00pm to get our main course. We did order dessert and finally left the pub at 2.20pm. The food was usual chain pub food which we were expecting.

Helpful?
1 Thank stupendo_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    112
    80
    65
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alderney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“shocking never again!!!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have eaten here a few times recently and it has got worse each time, which I did not think was possible. We had to order at the bar as no one came to the table after waiting nearly half an hour, okay that should have been a sign to leave right there but we waited regardless. We sat at the table waiting for both our food and drink for almost an hour even after asking where they were and how long it was going to take to make a couple of burgers!! what made thing worse is the table next to us who may I add ordered about 20 minutes after us were already eating and nearly finishing there food. After waiting a hour both meals which were cold and horrible we just paid and walked out was not even worth it .

I will NOT be returning!!!!! It is such a shame as during the summer the food and service were both amazing could not fault them. what a difference new management make shame.........

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Was expecting more”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Called in for a light lunch. Ordered the cheese & red onion chutney sandwich. When it came it was grated cheese with red onion. No chutney and no butter on the bread. This made the sandwich very dry. Ordered one of the special lattes with gingerbread. Gingerbread taste was noticeable by its absence. Disappointing again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goateee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great meal each time we go!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have been to the Smithfield Bell quite a few times and every time it gets better!! The last two times we have chatted with the new manager Lucie who is a pleasure to talk to due to our mutual interests in catering. We wish her all the best in leading the Smithfield to a bright and prosperous future and hope to see her down our way sometime in the near future! See you soon I'm sure!!

Helpful?
Thank Penmawddwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovley meal and great service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband, 9 year old daughter and I called in on Sunday evening after a trip to the cinema. My husband and I took advantage of the special £15 for a 2 course sunday roast with pudding for 2 and were very pleasantly surprised. Freshly cooked vegetables, crunchy roasts, light Yorkshire puddings and above average roast beef with plenty of gravy - you couldn't fault it! Very tasty! Our daughter thoroughly enjoyed her roast chicken with mashed potatoes and vegetables. Puddings were delicious. Spotlessly clean, friendly and efficient service, promptly served and great value for money....it's not often you can say that!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parrys2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smithfield Bell also viewed

 
Guilsfield, Welshpool
 

Been to The Smithfield Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing