We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goes from strength to strength”
Review of Bistro7 - CLOSED

Bistro7
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Goes from strength to strength”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Over the past year we have eaten here many time and it just gets better. In fact, it is often almost impossible to get a table and that says it all. Our last visit was for a birthday and was excellent all round. We don't bother eating any where else in Welshpool.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazyhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    50
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A top-notch dining experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A really nice relaxed atmosphere, great service, and a superb chef all points towards a great dining experience, and Bistro 7 never fails to please.

A wonderful array of dishes to suit all tastes on the menu, and that's a menu which keeps evolving. We've been a number of times, either just as a couple, or with the kids. Each time we couldn't have felt more welcome. Our daughter even chose Bistro 7 for her celebratory 7th birthday meal, and her pasta dish complete with candle went down a treat!

On my last couple of visits, I've had the pasta with chorizo and prawns, in a delicious spicy, creamy sauce. It really is delicious, and the pricing is very reasonable.

As well as the fabulous food, one can also pop in for a drink. A good opportunity to sample some of the fine guest ales.

Not content with offering just food and drink, Bistro 7 also puts on musical events (mainly of an evening, but also the occasional Sunday afternoon), with a diverse mix of local musicians playing in a lovely chilled-out atmosphere. You can keep an eye out for any special upcoming events on the board outside the bistro.

One final thing I will say is that it's advisable to book in advance to avoid disappointment, as Bistro 7 is very popular with the locals, and rightly so!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingCelery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A total gem.........”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant walking the town and ventured inside.... the specials menu above the bar caught our eye and just reading the dishes on there made our mouths water.... you could tell from these alone that this is not a microwave establishment!
We had the 'creamed trout' and 'rolled plaice' dishes.. and must say that they were one of the best two dishes we have EVER eaten anywhere... absolutely superb in every way... a crying shame that we do not live nearer than 3 hours away or we would be their best customers.....
Yes, you have to wait if you order freshly cooked food... if you want quick food try McD's, but if you want quality, freshness and a wonderful meal... try here.....

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meso115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great range of interesting food!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Reasonably priced and a great range. Has quite a pleasant med cafe feel which is amazing for Welshpool! All the staff are friendly and welcoming. As a pescetarian, restaurant eating is very often disappointing but they do a great variety of food I can and want to eat! Ace!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindybindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Something of a café atmosphere but well populated and we needed to book a table. Menus all on blackboards which creates obstructions to the busy staff. Starters were excellent but our main courses suffered a long delay and when they arrived one was cold. I mentioned this to the waitress who was very pleasant and knocked £5 off the bill. Maybe I was unlucky - she said she had never had a complaint before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hdt20979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro7 also viewed

Buttington, Welshpool
Guilsfield, Welshpool
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing