We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old School Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Welshpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

After a 75 mile bike ride from Brecon, it was a welcome relief to arrive at The Old School. Vickie and family gave us a really warm welcome, and the rooms/facilities were great. The rooms were spacious and unlike many B&B's, we were treated to complete privacy. Breakfast was also good. I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that after such a long ride you all found The Old School to be just what you needed. We feel that it is so important to offer guests an opportunity to completely relax and that having our guest accommodation totally separate means that this is always possible. We are still marveling at your amazing physical feat of endurance!
You are are always very welcome
Vickie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

A wonderful stay yet again. I always stay at the Old School B&B when anywhere near the area. I'd rather travel to stay there than go elsewhere. Vickie and Tim have a warm welcome, the food is fantastic and the setting superb. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ria888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thanks for your kind words once again. We always look forward to seeing you and we are looking to next time when you have booked to bring your family.
Best wishes
Vickie and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a special find. We booked this B&B as we were travelling to visit relatives and continuing on to attend a funeral. Once we placed our request to book a room on the internet, Vickie emailed back immediately to confirm our booking, which was great for us. She even rang the next day to ensure us all was well and to see if there was anything else we needed. She sounded friendly and we were not disappointed when we got to meet her a few days later. We were welcomed with a lovely cuppa and delicious fruit cake. The B&B is in a lovely quiet setting with wonderful views. It is very clean and tidy. Vickie & Tim are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. It is just a shame we could only stay the one night. We also took up Vickie's offer of an evening meal, which used fresh local produce and was really enjoyable. We slept well in the comfy bed and the breakfast was wonderful with lot's of choice and home made jam/marmalade.

Room Tip: A quiet useful location, handy for visiting Mid; South and North Wales, as well as parts of the Midl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We always try to give our guests the best stay possible even if it is for just one night. Judging by your review we are doing just that. Our evening meals are very popular and after a long day travelling and site seeing the option to 'eat in' suited you very well. Thanks so much for your review - its great to be appreciated. Perhaps next time you will be able stay a little longer and explore a very beautiful and unspoilt part of Wales.
Best wishes to you both
Vickie and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had travelled down to Wales for a funeral and selected this B & B based on TripAdvisor reviews. We received a really warm welcome with some delicious fruit cake and coffee provided on arrival by the owner Vickie. The room was a good size and the en-suite was modern and spacious. The B & B had a large guest lounge and when we returned after the funeral Vickie and Tim had put on a big log fire...it was lovely to come back and relax after such a sad day. The hens in the garden area were really friendly and produced the best eggs for breakfast. Lots of really nice touches...fresh milk for room tea/coffee making, local produce used for breakfast - delicious. We stayed for two nights and the weather was mixed (just the same as Scotland!). We had a great time and would recommend this B&B without hesitation.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great - we loved the one that looked on to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Your visit was indeed for the saddest of reasons which makes it all the more important that you felt as at home as possible. Its great to be appreciated and we would love to see you both again for happier reasons.
Best wishes
Vickie and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for a period of 5 weeks whilst on placement studying for my degree. Could not have been made to feel more welcome by Tim and Vickie. Rooms decorated very nicely, probably the best B&B I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steffan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

What can we say? We enjoyed having you here very much. You were great company and very appreciative. After 5 weeks staying with us you felt like a part of the family- Daisy is still missing you! You are always welcome - even if its just for a cup of tea when you are in the area.
Good luck with the rest of your degree, but we're sure you won't need it.
Best wishes
Vickie, Tim and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Found the Old School bed and breakfast on the Internet and after reading the previous reviews and very positive comments we e-mailed requesting the dates we were interested in (originally 2 nights Sat/Sun) stay, Vickie the owner responded promptly to our request which was very encouraging and on that basis we decided to book for a further 3 nights, we weren't disappointed.
Beautiful building in a stunning location with magnificent views. On our arrival we were greeted by Vickie & Tim and offered refreshments, tea/coffee and Vickie's home made flapjacks, very welcoming after our long journey. We stayed in the Oak room which was very spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts were cooked to order and proved to be an excellent start to the day.
Both Vickie & Tim are very knowledgeable of the area and recommended two restaurants to try during our stay and again these did not disappoint.
Highly recommended for a relaxing break and lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BMC56Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. You both needed to re charge your batteries and it seems that is exactly what you did. We certainly do have wonderful views and a very peaceful spot. You did, however, bring perfect weather with you which can only add to the natural beauty of this part of Wales. We are always pleased to know that with such great reviews so far we are still living up to guests expectations and we will continue to do so. We enjoyed your company enormously, look forward to seeing you again and cooking more hearty breakfasts for you!
Best wishes
Vickie, Tim ,Charlotte and James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have now been travelling for 5 weeks in the UK and this would be one of the best B&Bs that we have found. Vickie and Tim were fantastic hosts. Our room and ensuite were extremely well appointed and large. After a cold rainy day it was lovely to return to sit in front of the log fire in the lounge with magnificent views. At night it was great to be able to stay in and enjoy the fabulous dinners provided by Vickie. Thanks Vickie and Tim for a very enjoyable stay. In short it was brilliant and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

It was a real pleasure to have you stay and great to know that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Although it was May the weather was very 'British' . The log burner is always on stand-by for those unseasonably cool evenings. Its always good to know that our evening meals are enjoyed and particularly appreciated when guests do not have to venture out of an evening - especially in horrible weather!
You came a long way to be here but we would love to see you again.
Very best wishes
Vickie and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Welshpool hotels
0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
749 reviews
0 mi away
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
0 mi away
Red House Cottage
Red House Cottage
#2 of 3 in Guilsfield
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
The Red Lion Inn
#2 of 7 in Welshpool
25 reviews
0 mi away
Edderton Hall Country House
0 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#1 of 3 in Forden
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old School Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old School Bed & Breakfast

Address: Maesmawr, Welshpool SY21 9DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Welshpool
Hotel Class:4 star — Old School Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian school in a peaceful, rural location just 10 minute drive from Welshpool. Large and comfortable ensuite rooms,guest lounge with log burner. We also offer home cooked evening meals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old School Bed & Breakfast Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing