We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old School Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$121
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cain Valley Hotel(Llanfyllin)
$112
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Dragon Hotel(Montgomery)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gregynog Hall(Newtown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Castle Hotel(Bishops Castle)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
136
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslog burnersitting dining roomb bwarm welcomean evening mealbed and breakfastwelsh cakes on arrivalblack labradorfeel very welcomemid walesexcellent breakfastfresh milkpowis castlespent nightsrolling hillslovely breakshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 140 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It's impossible to draw any distinction whatsoever between the service provided and the accommodation standards at The Old School. Both are absolutely exemplary and display a standard that others should all seek to emulate. I cannot draw any real comparison between this and any other B&B that we have visited in the last few years, purely because there is actually no comparison. It doesn't get any better than this. As can be clearly seen from the reviews, this is a very popular place to stay. Consequently we now book 12 months ahead to ensure that we can get the dates that we require. Now if only Vickie and Tim could guarantee the weather ;O))

Roy & Jan Holt

Room Tip: No need! Both are beautiful with nice views from the shared lounge with its wood burning stove
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Even with regulars visitors like yourselves, who return year after year, it is very reassuring for us to know that we are keeping up our standards. Such great comments from such lovely guests makes all the hard work worth while. We 'll see you both next year.
Many thanks
Vickie and Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

THANK YOU for a wonderful stay in The Old School in a wonderful landscape. Everything was excellent: the home cooked meals (the desserts ! ), breakfast (the full English version ! ), the wonderful accommodation, the calmness and the very warm welcome and hospitality. Vickie and Tim made us feel home.
It was a great pleasure for us to be here and do last preparations for a great Welsh wedding.
We will come back !
Erwin and Monika
with Bettina, Simon and Thomas
Germany

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you all for taking the time to write a review. We are always very happy to know our guests have enjoyed their stay. But we can honestly say that we had as much fun as you did. We have never eaten our breakfast whilst listening to a wonderful musical rehearsal for a forthcoming wedding. Please, please come and visit us again.
Many thanks for a great weekend!
Vickie, Tim and Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This B and B is set in a wonderful location and so easy to find. Vicki gave us a very warm welcome on our arrival. Unfortunately we were only there for just one night. Accomodation was first class in every respect. The cooked dinner (thank you very much for the excellent vegetarian meal and the "rich" dessert!) was superb. We were also spoilt for choice for breakfast. This was our first visit, but surely not our last; we arelooking forward to seeing Vicki and family again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to show your appreciation. Your stay was a short one but we very much enjoyed your company. We have so much high quality local produce and wonderful welsh cheeses that vegetarian dishes are a real pleasure to cook. and we are very pleased that you enjoyed it so much. We do hope to see you again soon. Vickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We only stayed here for one night passing through to our final destination. We were made very welcome during our stay. Our daughter enjoyed playing in the grounds of the school. Lovelly breakfaset, we just wish we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Our first review from Sweden and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay all be it a brief one. We certainly hope to see you all again especially as the children got along so well. When you are so young there is no language barrier! Many thanks for your kind words, we always appreciate it.
Vickie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a lovely, comfortable stay in a picturesque location. Waking up in the morning looking at the lambs in the field. Vickie and Tim were perfect hosts, warm and welcoming. Our room was comfortable and spotless. An added bonus of having a living room with a real fire / dining room to relax in. The location was quiet and peaceful, just the gentle clucking of the hens. Far enough away from Welshpool and Guilsfield village to be in idyllic rural countryside and near enough to pop in the car for 5 miins. in to town or village for amenities. It's a good base to sight-see central Wales. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackerooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crazyhen, Owner at Old School Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thanks for your kind review. We are always pleased when guests find us to be an ideal base from which to explore what is a very beautiful, unspoilt area. We do enjoy a very tranquil spot but, as you say, we are just a few minutes away from great places like Powis Castle and Lake Vyrnwy. We really enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you all again soon. Just sorry we couldn't do much about the Great British Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews