We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Powis Castle and Garden
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Welshpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This medieval castle, originally built as a fortress, houses one of the most beautiful and extensive collections of treasures from India.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The museum was the best part with lots of interesting items. The house was less interesting. The room stewards were of mixed standard. The gardens are fantastic with amazing views.

The food was grossly overpriced. The national trust are trying to rip people off anyway they can!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Makgoesforit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    883
    300
    63
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just go!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

What a magical place. The volunteers in the house are knowledgeable and very welcoming which was great. The Clive museum is very interesting and worth a look. I was there on a fine but slightly chilly day but the house was warm. Do not miss the gardens and the amazing view of both the castle and the surrounding countryside from them, just beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reebok58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular gardens and views”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This National Trust property rather off the beaten track in central Wales is an absolute gem. The gardens in autumn when I visited were a blaze of colour, the visual effect enhanced by terracing and the spectacular backdrop of the hills around Welshpool.

The castle, too, is awe-inspiring. Allow plenty of time to take in the lavishly decorated rooms. I'm not really into excessive panelling heavy tapestries, and ceilings painted with cherubs but even I was impressed. Due to strict light control on the furnishings and paintings the rooms do seem quite dark. There's a separate part of the castle given over to memorabilia of Clive of India.

On a warm autumn afternoon, it was very pleasant to sit outside in the courtyard with a cream tea.

We only spent a couple of hours here, having taken in the Welshpool Light Railway in the morning, but a return visit is certainly on the cards next time I'm in the area

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank saltsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport UK
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Insight Into History”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of visiting the castle and gardens while on a short break in the area. The terraced gardens were spectacular and even in October, there were still plenty of flowers in bloom. Currently, there is a guided tour of the gardens with the head gardener at 10.30. Some areas of the gardens are accessible for those in wheelchairs but the castle itself is not as there are quite a number of steps up to the entrance. The rooms within the castle have many of the original features with impressive paintings, furniture and artefacts. The rooms are dressed so that it seems that people are still living there, but have left the room for a moment. There is also access to photographs and letters which give great insight into the lives of the people who lived there. Volunteers in each room are also able to answer questions and give additional information. Further information about the history of the castle can be gained through a number of introductory talks before visiting. Another "must see" is the Clive of India museum based in the castle ballroom. There is a 15 minute introductory video which sets the scene and gives the background historical perspective before looking at the exhibits in the museum. The exhibits themselves give a fascinating insight into the East India Company in India and the battles that led to the establishment of the British Raj and Clive's involvement in this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A GREAT DAY OUT”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A great National Trust place to visit is Powys Castle and Gardens. We went there with our with our son and his two small children age 5 and 3. Grandma and grandad decided to do the gardens first while everyone else went to explore the Castle. Every time we sit in the Gardens we see a changing picture and without fail, there is always a fantastic tree or shrub we hadn't spotted previously and despite trying to take a photo with our new fangled digital camera, we never seem to get the right effect. Our peace was shattered when we were joined by the rest of the family and the children wanted to explore3 the various paths which eventually took us to the ice-cream 'parlor' and they sat down exhausted (just for a few minutes). They told us stories about men in armour, big swords, huge beds, etc. etc. and wanted to go off and walk further. We ambled past the lake and saw some fish and bird life, which kept their attention for a few minutes. Then it was back up to have a picnic in the sun while mummy and grandma went to have a quick look in the shop and each came out with a necklace and scarf. Grandad wasn't left out as he bought as pleasant and the children bought daddy an ornamental mushroom (not sure if it was to daddy's taste but they were adamant they wanted a blue mushroom!) The most exciting bit was yet to come. As we drove out there were so many deer frolicking about under the trees and this fascinated us all. All in all a wonderful day out in the summer sunshine. The final comment of the day was from Sam, our three year old: "Grandma, do you think I can have a baby deer to live in the garden with the chickens and Ringo our cat?" That was one I left daddy and mummy to answer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank doreenthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powis Castle and Garden also viewed

 

Been to Powis Castle and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing