We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welshpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strawberry Skys Yurts
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Four of us shared the larger yurt for four days and three nights, and had such perfect escape. The yurt was so comfortable, pretty, clean, smelt amazing and had everything we needed. Not just in the yurt but the kitchen, shower and toilet (tho very eco-friendly!) were perfect for what we needed. Even tho there were 6 other people on the site we never got in the way too much of each other, and the yurt are so well positioned you never felt looked over or hardly heard each other!
The owners were perfect hosts, making us feel very welcome at the start and never hassled us over the four days, only stopped and chatted if our paths crossed. The unlimited wood was amazing as well which we took full advantage of! We were also provided with fun directions to the local village over fields and farmland, with recommended places to eat.
Definitely a place to recommend and revisit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carys_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in February. It had been snowing, was minus 6 but that did not spoil a thing. The fire, once going keeps you toasty, there is everything you could want, fab hot shower, great clean kitchen a quick stroll down the hill. The owners are lovely and so helpful. We trecked over the fields and spent one night at the black lion pub in the local village, well worth it. The locals were so friendly and we had a great time! One night we had a BBQ and camp fire in the snow which was magical! If you fancy some outdoors fun , you can't beat this!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachiehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visited as family of 3 and really enjoyed it. We had booked the large yurt and it was beautifully decorated with a toasty log fire. Fairy lights and lanterns inside, bbq and pit fire outside. The view is amazing. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lou2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Could not have asked for a better weekend. The Yurt was perfect, it had lovely furnishing and had an amazing atmosphere. Could not of asked for a better weekend. We didn't get to use the BBQ. However, I am planning on coming back in the summer next year with friends and taking full advantage of all the facilities! Very clean and very well priced especially as they supply all the fire equipment and tea lights! We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicevmandrew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it.
The owners and their dogs are fantastic . There are only 3 yurts and they are far apart so totally private. Lovely shower and kitchen. Wood is chopped up ready in the barn and you have your own outdoor picnic area with fire pit
Loved it, and the chippy in town is amazing.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staffscasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Just been to stay in the yurt-it was fab experience.very relaxing & beautiful location. it was great to have a fully functioning kitchen.

Added plus having bbq&fire pit as many places don't allow this.

Nice stroll to the village.

Be good if they had another shower.

The loo is fun! It's all v clean & comfortable.

Good value for money!

Be good if they did gift voucher! Nice pressie!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

What luck to find this place! A birthday treat from my boyfriend which lived up to and exceeded expectations. Chopping wood, cooking hearty meals, making fires and listening to the funny loud sheep talking amongst themselves, a perfect break for those who want a taste of the outdoors with the comfort of a warm, rustic and beautifully decorated yurt (“which you can stand up in!”). Also a hospitable and kind host who made our stay peaceful, and who helped us out of the mud when my boyfriend decided to mount the verge. Thank you for a brilliant time!

Room Tip: Choose the yurt closest to the facilities. Ash and willow are about equal distance from the toilets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 442sammann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welshpool
6.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cain Valley Hotel
Cain Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfyllin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
14.0 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Mountain Edge Shropshire Lodges & Camping Pods
6.4 mi away
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Red Lion Inn
#2 of 6 in Welshpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Skys Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Skys Yurts

Property: Strawberry Skys Yurts
Address: Clyniarth Cottage | Cyfronydd, Welshpool SY21 9HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Welshpool
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Welshpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are three accommodations which are situated apart from each other in a secluded two acre field. Willow yurt is roughly 16ft in diameter and sleep 2-4 adults. Cherry yurt is 19ft in diameter can sleep up to 6 adults. And Oak yurt is two yurts, one 16ft and one 19ft which are joined together by a corridor and a door. Each yurt is fully furnished and heated by a woodburner which makes them extremely warm while the felt holds in the heat. Outside, each yurt has its own fire-pit, bench seating, picnic table and cast iron BBQ, all of which can be moved around the field so larger groups can sit together. At the bottom of the yurt field is a very eco compost toilet, don't be scared it's not that different to a normal loo, just without the flushing! The kitchen and shower facilities are situated in a separate area a few metres from the yurt field. The cabin kitchen is fully equipped with all the cooking equipment, crockery and glasses you should need including a gas cooker, fridge and kitchen sink. The shower is close by and is fully heated it also includes a heated towel rail and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strawberry Skys Yurts Welshpool, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing