We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay with an interesting history”
Review of Carmel Court

Carmel Court
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presteigne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carmel Court
Ranked #10 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here for one night on my lands end to John o'groats cycling trip. The house and the facilities perhaps are in need of a little modernisation but to be honest that adds to the charm and attraction of the place. The house and it's setting are certainly impressive. The hosts are charming and welcoming and cook a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Carmel Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

I have stayed at Carmel court a few times and would not hesitate in returning. Wonderful welcomes from mr and mrs Monaghan and brilliant service. If you are in the area pay a visit as Carmel court has an old world charm and lovely gardens. Other negative comments must be one off's as we have always had a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

This B&B is one which made a perfect getaway for the family.
Mr and Mrs Monaghan were lovely and welcoming. I would not let the bad reviews put you off. Had a brilliant fry up in the morning to set us off. and i would happily stay there longer.
Lovely.
Thanks Monaghan's.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambo2494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

My sister & I stayed at Carmel Court during a cycling holiday. We were a bit wary at first when we read the reviews, we nicked named it the Marmite Hotel, you either love it or you hate it!

We loved it, you couldn't have been made more welcome but Terry & his wife. Room was lovely and the breakfast was fab.

If we are ever in the area again we will be staying here

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamtots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

As a regular traveller be it business and pleasure I have to say that I have never been made to feel as welcome or entertained than i did with my long weekend with the Monaghans.

The house is set in beautiful surroundings, my room was large with lovely views and a very comfortable bed!

If you are within a 100 mile radius of this place, please make sure you stay here. The breakfast is top nosh too

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CiaranBullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Though Terry is a helpful and friendly fellow, our experience of Carmel Court was poor. The room smelled of gasoline, was damp and dingy. The bathroom (not en-suite) even damper & dingier. Breakfast was fine. There were no pillowcases on the extra pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderingwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

Recommended by host's' (Terry) daughter in England. Fantastic welcome with a coffee and a beer. Huge room, lovely bed, fantastic bathroom. Brilliant breakfast. Wonderful old convent. A truly lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BIGTEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Court

Address: King's Turning Road, Presteigne LD8 2LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range: $41 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Carmel Court Presteigne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing