We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 14 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This guesthouse is magical. It is so beautiful I thought it might have disappeared when I returned after a night out at the Hay Festival but there it was, bathed in the full moon light, looking warm, stunning and welcoming. I stumbled across it when abandoning another rather poor B&B and feel very lucky indeed!

This is within a really reasonable driving distance of Hay Festival and the Brecon Beacons but is totally country. The shetland ponies, sheep, hens and enormous supply of wild birds and squirrels create a serene and enchanting environment. The welcome from the hosts is warm, friendly and welcoming, you couldn't ask for better. Breakfast was the best I have had for a long time - not since the wonderful breakfasts we get in Ireland with Claire and Col at Killurin Lodge and which I still talk about - breakfasts to travel for. Home made preserves were perfect, I recommend all of them but the grape is spectacular. I sat for a while in the breakfast room after breakfast just taking in the view - such a lovely start to the day.

I walked into the room I was offered and just said "wow". Two big windows looking out on pastoral perfection. I am sitting in it now listening to the birds and watching the ponies and sheep. It was a pleasure to come back to it after a day Festival-ing.

If you are near Hereford, Brecon or Hay I would urge you to stay at the Old Vicarage. In fact, make staying at the Old Vicarage the reason for coming to Hereford, Brecon or Hay! I came for the Festival, but staying at this guesthouse made this trip much more special than that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you we really appreciate your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the tranquility of our home and surroundings. Pleased to hear you enjoyed our preserves. We are hoping for another bumper crop of grapes from our vines again this year.
We are very lucky to have such a wealth of hidden unknown treasures on our doorstep as well as easy access to places a little further afield which you have mentioned. Maybe on your next visit we can share a few of our secrets with you so that you can explore and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our three night stay at The Old Vicarage was a dream come true! We wanted to get a feel for the real Welsh countryside and Pat and Michael really made that happen by directing us to all the nearby hamlets to explore. They were so welcoming. Our room was lovely with en-suite shower. The views from our bedroom windows were of beautiful pastoral settings. The beds were more than comfortable (lovely linens) and the breakfasts both delicious and beautifully presented. A wonderful plus was the option of returning in the evening to a gourmet meal prepared by our charming hostess Pat. Our original trip was to London, but this little sidetrip to the Welsh countryside was its actual highlight due to this lovely B&B. When we return to America we will recommend that a visit to Britain needs to include a stopover at The Old Vicarage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our beautiful location and surrounding area. We hope we can welcome you back one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

A lovely house in amazing surroundings where Pat and Michael make you feel welcome and comfortable in their beautifully appointed home.(I loved the curtains in our room!). If the stunning views and extensive garden are not enough for you there are lots of places of interest in close proximity to visit. We are already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Fantastic views wherever you sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and are already planning your next trip. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had a fabulous stay here and we were impressed by every aspect of it. Pat & Michael could not have been more welcoming throughout our stay. Room was gorgeous, slept very peacefully and the attention to detail superb- appreciated all the lovely special touches. We are so envious of the house and walled garden and being surrounded by such picturesque scenery. Thank you for a wonderful weekend break. We will highly recommend to friends and family and we look forward to staying with you in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We enjoyed your company and we look forward to welcoming you again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The location and facilities are fantastic. Pat & Michael the owners could not have been more accommodating and friendly. We arrived for a local event with a vintage car in a trailer and there was plenty of room to park and turn around.
We had an evening meal each night which was excellent.
Hard to fault and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldVicarage_Evancoyd, Owner at The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for the review.
We enjoyed having you stay with us.
The Vintage Car Event was great fun.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
4.4 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
9.6 mi away
Rhydspence Inn
Rhydspence Inn
#1 of 1 in Whitney-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Radnorshire Arms
The Radnorshire Arms
#3 of 14 in Presteigne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lowe Farm B&B
Lowe Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Pembridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Fforest Inn
The Fforest Inn
#1 of 2 in New Radnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#2 of 13 in Kington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Evancoyd, Presteigne LD8 2PA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Welsh - English border, 'The Old Vicarage' has beautiful grounds with glorious views and provides a peaceful retreat to escape to the country. There are three large comfortable rooms; a double with en-suite shower room, a twin - bedded room with private bathroom and a double room with private bathroom. The large sitting / breakfast room has panoramic views over Radnorshire and a cosy log fire. A welcoming complementary tea with homemade scone or cake is provided on arrival; a three course dinner is available by prior arrangement and you can bring your own drinks to accompany your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast Presteigne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing