We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful country retreat”
Review of Wegnalls House

Wegnalls House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Presteigne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wegnalls House
Ranked #5 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Annie and David made us most welcome throughout our stay. The house is situated on the English Welsh border in a quiet secluded location within beautiful grounds. The rooms cater for absolutely everything with high spec accessories and the power shower is absolutely fabulous. Breakfast was hearty and delicious, but the greatest quality of all was the hospitality and warm welcome offered by David and Annie. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

What a star! Annie went out of her way to make things as perfect and easy as possible when we stayed with her on a recent business trip. So relaxing - almost as good as being at home - and tremendously comfortable. I can't think of anything she hasn't thought of.... brilliant. Thank you Annie!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pemberton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I'm not usually given to writing and effusive commentary, but occasionally an exception must be made where credit is due.

Annie is a great character and a generous host. Her four 'girls' (see website) formed the enthusiastic welcome party, announcing our arrival and making a fuss of us. We settled into the guest lounge over a pot of tea and biccies and felt truly welcomed.

The characterful late Victorian-style house, set in beautifully manicured grounds has its own well and an adjacent stream delineating the Welsh and English border. Inside the house is clean and light thanks to tall sash windows and fresh, sympathetic decor.

Our room was both modern and spotless, featuring a modern en-suite shower room with all the bits and bobs you can think of including luxurious double bath towels and robes to boot. During the night I heard numerous highly contented mutterings of "I love this bed" (thanks to the comfy mattress and fresh bedding) from the other side! Fresh milk in a flask guaranteed a proper brew come the morning.

Breakfast lived up to expectations based on everything else we experienced at Wegnalls and we left fully intending to return soon to explore Presteigne and the borders.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckingtonroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Annie has set up the most homely of B&B's and as mentioned before there is everything you could need and if not your always invited to ask. The rooms are spacious and clean with high victorian ceilings including an immaculate en-suite. The food is cooked to order, tasting fantastic and enough to fill you up for the day. The grounds are peaceful and elegant with a shallow stream running alongside. There's a warm atmosphere and good humour at the Wegnalls and it has become our base for visiting the area - a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Trying hard to find fault with this place but Annie and family have got it nailed. Fabulous house, river running by, elegant and ample garden. Most tranquil. This part of the world must be Wales' best kept secret, the Welsh-English border country - and Presteigne must be captial of this most interesting and beautiful part of the world. I travelled from Cardiff and its only over 1.5 hours but a world away. We had the warmest of welcome by Annie Hughes and her family. Do read her blog on their website for the most amusing stories of her 'girls'. Its all true! I found it difficult to get up and going from the queen size bed in the most spacious of bedrooms - but the smell of breakfast from Annie's kitchen got the better of me - and we weren't disappointed. Previous reviewers have said it all and would totally agree. Already arranging another visit end of summer.

Room Tip: If wanting a quiet relaxing and romantic break get the room with queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delythcric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Annie Hughes and her family certainly know how to treat guests at their quaint Victorian residence - Wegnalls House B & B on the outskirts of Prestigne, Powys.

The stay is amazing, fantastic queen size beds, armchairs, walk in showers and Annie certainly thinks of everything, even down to a hot water bottle in your bed on a late arrival. The breakfast menu is certainly amazing and out of this world. There is simply nothing out of place at this fantastic B & B. We have stayed there now four times in total in one year. Our next trip is in October 2012. We cannot wait.!!!

Well done Annie, your a superb hostess with the mostest. Dont hang up your gun just yet, keep firing the good spirit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I couldn't fault my stay at Wegnalls House. Lovely house and surroundings, beautiful spacious room and bathroom with view to the little river that divides England and Wales. Annie seems to have thought of everything - coffee and tea choice, biscuits, a couple of chocolate mints as well, big fluffy towels, bathrobes, and all kinds of little extras. Fireside fork supper by the roaring wood burner in the guest living room (complete with piano) was great.

The four dogs were friendly and fun - and I couldn't have been looked after better. Thank you Annie!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pemberton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wegnalls House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wegnalls House

Address: Wegnalls House Kingsturning, Presteigne LD8 2LD, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Hotel Class:4 star — Wegnalls House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wegnalls House Presteigne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing