We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Radnorshire Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Radnorshire Arms
Ranked #2 of 14 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

fantastic old building, lots of character, staff brilliant, food exceptional, etc, etc.... !!!! Would defintely go back. There are a couple of lovely lounges to collapse in (one complete with a full size pool table, and the other with a mini library in a priest-hole!). Room was huge - lovely big soft bed, bay window overlooking garden, big bathroom (shower over the bath, and shower head very low, so excellent if you are vertically challenged - if not, bath-time it is !).

Food was brilliant. Full welsh breakfast (freshly cooked). We had dinner twice during our stay, and the food was amazing. Extremely good quality and excellent value for money. We are South African and therefore obviously love meat (and know good quality). Brian had a fillet steak for dinner one night, and said it is the best steak he's had since arriving in the UK !! High praise indeed!

Like stepping back in time to a more genteel period in history, when manners were more abundant and staff were extremely attentive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    17
    12
    4
See reviews for
24
56
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NW England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in a lovely town. Ate in hotel both nights....excellent value and quality, and friendly service. Excellent base for walking and sightseeing...including Offas Dyke. Love to return

Room Tip: Room 7...spacious and airy...just above kitchen so some odours and noise, but doesnt affect a good n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

just returned from a 2 night stay at the radnorshire arms and i can say we were pleasently surprised.got checked in nice and swiftly,then headed straight to the bar (nice beer garden too). reasonable prices, decent selection of ales,2 lagers and 2 draught ciders.had a meal that night and it was beautiful. again reasonable prices and all the menu sounded lovely.we stayed in rm19 which was fantastic. spotlessly clean,and the bed was super comfy.the bathroom was gorgeous,quite modern,very clean and we even had a jacuzzi bath which topped it off. the rad arms for us was in a nice location,just at the end of a nice quiet town.all in all then, for the money,excellent choice. happy bunnys

Room Tip: room 19, nice jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed for a 2 night break, which was excellent value with go-groupie. Everything was great. The food was superb, the best we have tasted in a long time. The prices was reasonable, and the service as first class, thanks to Craig, who provided friendly service with excellent professionalism. Yes the hotel overall could do with a referbishment, but the atmosphere more then made up for that. If you are looking for a friendly establishment in a central location, then look no further and book it. You will not be disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gwenllian812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Still not sure. We spent one night in Presteigne. Our room was small and on third floor. We ate in the hotel restaurant. Our meal was fine with service a little slow. The bed was very comfortable and the shower in the morning excellent. Breakfast was disappointing. Very ordinary juices, cereal, toast etc. the cooked breakfast was good but my croissants were horrid. The staff were all very very friendly and natural. I think the hotel could do with some improvements but the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a lovely room in this beautiful old building. The staff couldn't have been more helpful! It was a bit noisy initially but got quiet when the pub closed. Food in the restaurant was good too. The room was booked for us so I don't know how much it cost and can't really comment on the value but we slept like logs and thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nalini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food was soooo delicious!! Compliments to the chef all round!! I forgot to ask him for the recipe for his fish cakes which were out of this world! I could go on all night Lol..The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The lodge rooms are the best. Food

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zuki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
5.1 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
9.0 mi away
The Fforest Inn
The Fforest Inn
#1 of 2 in New Radnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Radnorshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Radnorshire Arms

Property: The Radnorshire Arms
Address: High Street, Presteigne LD8 2BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Radnorshire Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned historic 3* Hotel and restaurant, offering 17 en-suite rooms, all equipped to the highest standard with a lounge, childrens' play area and gardens. We accommodate individuals, couples, families and larger groups in relaxed and spacious surroundings whether it be for a very special occasion or for a quiet evening out. Located in beautiful countryside in the town of Presteigne next to Offas Dyke and close to Ludlow Hereford, Shrewsbury and Llandrindod Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Radnorshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Radnorshire Arms Presteigne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing