We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quaint hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Radnorshire Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend and found the rooms to be lovely with lots of history. Great staff (if a little overworked) Ideally situated for horseriding nearby. Very nice substantial food and a lovely touch of the history of the hotel available to read in the room. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hart1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for The Radnorshire Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 124 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband, baby son and I had a wonderful time at the Radnorshire. We stayed two nights and stayed in room 6 which was spacious, bright and very pleasant. The residents' lounge was large and comfortable with a library. The hotel is full of character, retaining its olde worlde charm but providing all mod cons. Staff are wonderful and very attentive. Presteigne itself is a gem. Very beautiful. Loved our break so much, thinking of returning over Christmas.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillH013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had dinner here yesterday, beef curry it was dreadful large tough chunks of meat and there was no curry taste at all. The chef! had obviously not tested the food at all.
I have eaten here several times over the last few years and the food is consistently poor.
I think it is time to admit defeat and eat elsewhere.
The sticky toffee pudding was ok and the coffee was reasonable, but this is not enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Good food. Very clean nice rooms. Very friendly staff who appeared to work very hard! Great atmosphere. Enjoyed the pizza and sunday lunch menu. Good base to visit Spaceguard centre and Mid Wales generally.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

we stayed at the Radnorshire Arms the 17th & !8t September. Nicely located in the heart of the town, our first impressions were of a beautiful building. a warm welcome from reception was a good start. Our room (N06) was a pleasant suprise, we had this break bought for us as a Groupon present, and for the price we were not expecting a lot. The room was large and bright, a comfortable bed, full size TV with all the channels, a sofa, tea & coffee, and so clean even the Hotel Inspector (and some of the sad individuals on this site) would not find fault. The Hotel interior is fascinating, if only walls could talk. The "full Welsh breakfast" was outstanding. We found the bar a pleasant place to relax, with the added bonus of a group of talented local musicians holding a weekly jam session on Monday nights. Well located for places to visit. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We found the Radnorshire last year while strolling around the town & went in for a lunch time bar snack which we enjoyed so when in town again this year made a beeline there for our lunch.
Still the same lovely old building but oh dear the sandwiches when came were 3"+ deep the sight of such thick bread was very off putting to look at and though the waitress happily wrapped most of them up to take away she did agree .
So beware of doorsteps sarnies !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We arrived here in pouring rain last Friday evening so left the luggage in the car and headed for the reception and bar. You can drop off outside the front of the Hotel but not knowing the area we found the car park before the front. From the car park you need to go down quite steep steps that my Mother 81 found a bit difficult especially in the rain and my Brother and his wife foster a girl who is wheelchair bound so this was also difficult. After settling in and the rain having stopped we asked reception if they could accommodate 9 of us in the bar for supper and before long we were all at the table they had set up for our meal. We had a selection from the Menu and all meals were lovely. I think the favourite was the beer battered fish and chips - well done new Chef! Some of us finished the evening off in the bar with various locals and ended up with a sing a long with a local lad playing the guitar. Good fun!

My Mother and Father had the oldest room in the hotel on the first floor (again stairs quite steep) and it was lovely although Mother found it difficult to get into bed! It was so high but once in very comfortable.
We had rooms up the steps in what I think they called the bungalows. It was spacious, comfortable and clean so not a problem. We did have to nominate some lads to help with the wheelchair although you could push it right round but it was some distance.

Next day was the Wedding Day and they left us the table all set for breakfast where you had the usual fruit juice, cerials etc. and choice of cooked items from the Menu. Again all very well presented and as much toast, tea and coffee as you liked.

Off to St.Andrews church. Lovely short walk off of the High Sreet. Everyone friendly lovely little shops. After the ceremony back to the Radnorshire where the reception was all set up. After mingling we entered the marquee that was perfectly decorated with colours of the bridesmaids, flowers etc. and all 92 guests were seated in groups of family and friends round large round tables. We pre ordered our preferences for the sit down meal and they all came out hot and perfectly cooked - roast beef, yorkshire and vegtables was the most talked about. Beautiful job again Chef. Disco played until the early hours and everyone had a great time.

After breakfast on the Sunday it was time to say good bye to the Radnorshire and summing up the Hotel is old and there so many different areas that you can lose people and very up and down. This all adds to the beauty of the place and the icing on the cake - the staff! They are amazingly friendly, cannot do enough for you and work so hard. Well done Radnorshire the weekend was perfect.

Room Tip: When you book tell them if you have any problems with stairs or steps.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzzyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
5.1 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
207 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
216 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 14 in Kington
55 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lowe Farm B&B
Lowe Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Pembridge
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Radnorshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Radnorshire Arms

Address: High Street, Presteigne LD8 2BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range: $113 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Radnorshire Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned historic 3* Hotel and restaurant, offering 17 en-suite rooms, all equipped to the highest standard with a lounge, childrens' play area and gardens. We accommodate individuals, couples, families and larger groups in relaxed and spacious surroundings whether it be for a very special occasion or for a quiet evening out. Located in beautiful countryside in the town of Presteigne next to Offas Dyke and close to Ludlow Hereford, Shrewsbury and Llandrindod Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Radnorshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Radnorshire Arms Presteigne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing