We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience with Quirky Charachter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Radnorshire Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Presteigne B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The food is stunning, they have great real ales and the team are attentive, pleasant and keen to help.

The rooms are clean and tidy. The hotel is in need of a refurb BUT every one knows this and the owners are apparently hoping to start this early next year - I actually think this adds to the character in a way !

Room Tip: Room 9 with the mini four poster bed
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyGwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for The Radnorshire Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

We recently had a weekend family break at The Radnorshire and it was a perfect experience. The hotel was able to accommodate us in a family suite, with a separate room for our children which was connected to ours. Despite our children being 'fussy' eaters, the chef was happy to meet their needs and we all enjoyed lovely meals in the restaurant. The little town is very pleasant and there are many things to see and do in the local area. Will definately visit again soon.

Room Tip: Every room is designed to be individual. Check the website to view them all before booking.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibbles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The building itself is very pretty and full of history, but the room we stayed in (Room 3) overlooks the beer garden and is above an activity room and so was very noisy. Also smokers congregate below the window to smoke and this can make the room stink.

Understandably there are low doorways so watch your heads.

Value wise, I booked it using a kgb deals voucher which included full Welsh breakfast which was very nice (even though the first morning there were 2 sausages and 2 rashers of bacon each but on the second morning both were down to one) I think normally it is £85 per night, which I wouldn't have been happy paying.

Presteigne itself is very pretty and picturesque, but there really isn't a great deal to do there. 2 nights was more than sufficient. It is quite a friendly place too.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 (Weobley)or any that overlook the beer garden. It is very noisy and if people smoke dow...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peppagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a very old building that needs thousands spent on refurbishment. So many things didn't work. The phone in the first room I stayed in didn't work. I had to ask four times in two days for the room to be heated, although it was only 9 degrees outside and only 16 in the room. The electric heater didn't work. The electric shower spewed scalding hot water when first switched on. The room wasn't cleaned at all on one night of my stay. The rooms were not cleaned properly even given that this is difficult in such an old building. The guest lounge was unavailable during most of my stay, leaving only the bar as a public area in which to sit. And, the final straw, they tried to charge me £96 for "miscellaneous items" that they couldn't explain.

On the other hand, the staff were friendly, and the atmosphere in the bar was good.And I liked the generous provision of towels.

Room Tip: It is difficult/impossible to access the internet from the second floor rooms. Plus, don't even...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very warm welcome , we returned after 4 years lace still has character althougt very tired rooms , which are due to be refurfbished this year , hope they don't spoile it by trying to modernise too much, but the rooms do really do need doing , we ate in the resturant the first night but it was very cold , second night tried the Bar same food but warmer & all staff very pleasant, menu very limited for both Bar & resturant but food good quality & cooked just right , The Radnorshire is under the same owners as The Knighton Hotel at Knighton , Radnorshire far the better of the two , for staff helpfulnes , character of the Hotel & Location . You are in Powys but not far from Shropshire & Herifordshire , Ludlow about 15-20miles away well worth a visite.
Good Luck with the refurbishment

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shep-pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Never left a comment before but felt I really had to after staying here. The hotel is steeped in history which I love, the whole place oozes atmosphere and I only wish the walls could talk. The room we stayed in, in the main part of the hotel was great, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ate in the restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the meal, there was plenty to choose from and it was a difficult choice. The staff could not have been more attentive and were very helpful when asked about local amenities. I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel to anyone and I am sure that you would enjoy the stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I love this beautiful hotel in such a lovely little area of Wales. The staff are so friendly, the hotel is just gorgeous and the rooms are so comfortable. It is a delight to stay here. Ive stayed here with my family, with friends and on business and I cannot find fault. The area is a lovely friendly local place to enjoy yourself whether on a relaxing wekend, or a girly night out. The function room is beautiful, if only I had a reason to use it I would definately book it up way in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presteigne
5.1 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
208 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Burton Hotel
The Burton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kington
217 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Old Vicarage Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
Oxford Arms
Oxford Arms
#3 of 14 in Kington
55 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lowe Farm B&B
Lowe Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Pembridge
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Radnorshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Radnorshire Arms

Address: High Street, Presteigne LD8 2BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Presteigne
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Presteigne
Price Range: $114 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Radnorshire Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned historic 3* Hotel and restaurant, offering 17 en-suite rooms, all equipped to the highest standard with a lounge, childrens' play area and gardens. We accommodate individuals, couples, families and larger groups in relaxed and spacious surroundings whether it be for a very special occasion or for a quiet evening out. Located in beautiful countryside in the town of Presteigne next to Offas Dyke and close to Ludlow Hereford, Shrewsbury and Llandrindod Wells. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Radnorshire Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Radnorshire Arms Presteigne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing