We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Birthday weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

kimbjm
blaenau gwent
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed March 25, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Myself and 9 of my friends stayed here. We were a young group of women and had a great time.facilities were really good, house was beautiful and the lady that owned it supplied us with everything needed, The hot tub was lovelyour also. We had cake, butter and wine on arrival and a few things wrecked already there such as tea, coffee, fresh milk etc.. which was also supplied by the owner. The surroundings were beautiful. We would like to thank the owners for letting us stay, had a great weekend! Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
Thank you for taking your time to provide a lovely review on your stay at Plas Rhiwlas. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your time at this cottage and that the owner was able to provide you with everything that you needed for a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon or if you require a different cottage next time please don't hesitate in contacting us.
Best regards,
Ffion Best of Wales Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rgja
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great property but a few irritating problems”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful house, great layout with communal areas on the ground floor, double bedrooms on first floor and twin rooms on top floor which worked well for us with kids having the top floor to themselves. Lovely big dining room and well equipped kitchen. Great garden to play in although tiered so young children need to be careful of the drop between levels. Driving distance to 3 lovely beaches.

Downsides for us were the windows opened like doors sometimes at floor level which was not ideal especially with children. They did lock but it meant the top of the house got very hot for the children. You can't drink the tap water but bottled water is provided and topped up when asked. The problem we had was we kept running out of water and often had to do a late night drive to the shops or a morning shop if we couldn't get hold of the owners. It would have been better if there was a bulk supply we could have gone to when required rather than having to always ask for more or buy our own when we ran out late at night. Finally the crockery is quite delicate yet the dishwasher is quite flimsy and the combination caused a couple of breakages for us which we were charged quite heavily for.

If the issues we had are addressed I would recommend this to others as it is a lovely property in a lovely location.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Response from the owners...

Having started a holiday let business at this location earlier this year, we are grateful of any comments, favourable or unfavourable, so that any issues can be rectified to make for a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable holiday for all our guests.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the layout met your requirements. In reply to the specific comments made, the garden is two tiered (there are photos and a description of this on the website) and should not cause any danger to children ? especially when they are properly supervised as we always advise.

The windows are all double glazed, lockable and open as normal. The only window that's left locked is the one at floor level on the top floor of the house, and a key is available if required. The top of the house also has 5 velux windows with blinds and can be opened when required to allow cold air to circulate.

The water is supplied from a private spring, so has to be compulsory tested, the results of which showed that the water was of good quality but not completely suitable for drinking without installing a filter. Supplying bottled water was therefore a temporary measure and we are glad to say that work has now been carried out to rectify this matter for all future guests.

The kitchen units were supplied by 'Howdens' along with a dishwasher and washing machine which are both made by a reputable company. The crockery and other utensils are of a high standard, which by hindsight are probably too delicate for the needs of some guests, but appreciated by others.

Finally, in conclusion, our aim is to please all our guests - which explains why there is also an exclusive hot tub available for Plas Rhiwlas guests now. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.