We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but an average total experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wynnstay

Wynnstay
Ranked #16 of 28 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Cuisines: British, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An old coaching inn providing high quality food and drink for the 21st century traveller. Warm welcome, cosy fires, real ales, excellent wines, quality meals, 23 en-suite bedrooms.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, but an average total experience”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Ate here a night in July.

We arrived without reservation, but got a table after half an hours wait.

The main dining area is very nice, but the room we sat in was more average. There was also a lot of moving around of tables while we ate, as they were making room for larger companies.

The service was a bit slow, and when we got the bill we ended up goint to pay in the reception (you had to do this, but no one told us, nad we just sat waited until we got up an paid).

The food is the positive side. We had the trout and lamb, which was very good. the soup and cheese starter was also good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNorwegianExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    54
    13
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food, slightly strange service..”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ate here on a Saturday night and were lucky to get a table for two without a reservation. The food was genuinely lovely and it was apparent that fresh, local ingredients were incorporated where possible. We both ate starters and dessert but could not fit in pudding. Coffee/tea was served with cute little biscuits and chocolates :-) This experience was dampened by the strange service with waitresses who were absent for much of the time and who seemed to run in, dump food on the table and run away again! Improve the service and this will be a real diamond of a place to eat! A small but real problem.. the ladies loos are upstairs which meant that I couldn't access them on my crutches...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HounsfieldsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place, but vegetarians don't get such a good deal”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The beer was great, the interior was really good, the service was excellent.

Any problems? The vegetarian choices were a bit lacklustre and overpriced. £11.95 is a bit excessive for a 'gateau' of roasted veg and goats cheese. It was essentially a serving of veg with some melted cheese on top, served with mash. Nice but not £12 worth of nice.

Meat eaters do far better and will enjoy this lovely place much more than I did.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scrabblemad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Always a great choice of local product. Recommend the lamb in particular. Oh and go for the cheese board.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MFiVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good food in a lovely old building”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were surprised to find the restaurant so busy on a wet mid-week July evening. We'd eaten here before and found that the menu had changed to reflect the season and available local produce. My started of lobster and broad beans was delicate (and tiny!) and maybe needed a bit of lemon to lift it a bit. My husband had the better choice of ham hock terrine (2 good slices, I sampled it too.) with apricot chutney - both gorgeous. He then had roast hake as a main course and enjoyed that. I chose roast pork and found it very rich and filling but delicious. One criticism was that the crispy skin on the pork belly had not been scored so it was difficult to cut. The wine list is very reasonable with a decent selection of affordable wines as well as the more expensive fine wines. The place to go in Machynlleth.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwearyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wynnstay also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to Wynnstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing