We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Eco Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eco Retreats
Paris, France
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with EcoRetreats and didn't want to leave. We were in a tipi and built fires in our chimnea morning and evening. We were staying at the beginning of April and there was still a bit of snow around but it was exceedingly cosy with the fire roaring.

The thought that has been put into the place is clear. Everything that you might need is provided and the tipis themselves feel cosy and somewhat luxurious, without being extravagant. The site and the area surrounding it are incredibly beautiful. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brld699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My partner booked this holiday last minute for a weekend away from our busy work life. The location is idyllic and truly absolutely stunning! It's a long way from the main road down a forestry road. Each Tipi seems to look very private. You wouldn't be able to tell anyone else is around! We stayed in Waterfall tipi and would definitely choose it if we came again.

We arrived late but there was a very nice note on the gate directing us to our tipi and a welcome message and pack in the tipi giving us instructions for how things work. We were visited (not too early) the next morning just to check we were ok, then left to our own devices for the rest of the stay.

The tipi was well equipt. A nearby log store and axe kept us going with our log burner and we had a campfire next to the tipi on another night. They have pans and utensils you can borrow for the tipi.

We would definitely consider another visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank src27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were fortunate to win a 2 night stay at Eco Retreats and we are now trying to work out when we can return.

We had been past their turning numerous times over the years going to other places and not realised what we were missing.

You are grateful for their signs as you drive through the forest and are then greated and shown to your tipi. We had the one at the very top of the site and if we hadn't seen the others you'd have thought no one else was around.

Everything is there for you so you don't have take a thing expect maybe a book and a attitude of relaxtion.

Whilst there I would recommend a trip to the Centre for Alternate Engergy nearby as it opens your eyes to a few things. Then the choice is yours - we walked and went to the beach but we'd have been quite happy to not move from the tipi for 2 days.

Book now - you'll love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husbands family bought us this trip for our joint 40th and it was a great present!
After a long winding road (excuse the pun) half way up a welsh mountain and a short walk to our tipi, it was very clear what a stunning place we were in. It was breath taking! The Tipi itself was extremely cosy and very well equipped with all neccessities. We were treated to Reiki whihc neither of us had experienced before and also a meditation session (also something neither of us had done previously) but both added to the experience.
We went for a gorgeous walk to the top of the mountain and the view was incredible across the valleys. It was a perfect place to let all the worries of everyday life escpape you for a couple of days. Well recommended!!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaNan B, Manager at Eco Retreats, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks very much. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The perfect Eco Tipi Retreat. We had a wonderful time enjoying the natural environment, the fresh air and wonderful water, reiki and meditation. The tipi’s are beautiful and the surroundings majestic. After driving though miles of beautiful forest we loved sharing the farmland with the sheep and their four week old lambs. Our tipi everything we needed even though we had so much less than you do at home. The water is fed from the spring so it is delicious and invigorating, washing in it was like a 24 hour face lift, I haven't looked so fresh faced in years.
We enjoyed walking through the farmland and in the hills and feeling so far from everything. I enjoyed the reiki and meditation and as it didn’t appeal to my husband so he carried on doing what he did most – sitting next to the fire and enjoying the views. He says now he wished he’d tried it, but only didn’t as thought you had to undress, which of course you don’t. We ate outside eating barbecued steak and fire cooked jacket potatoes one night and had our anniversary meal inside the tipi with candle light the second, of course we went and back outside to toast marshmallows to finish off the evening.
We chopped wood, built fires, used a composting loo and showered in spring water and enjoyed every moment. Actually my favourite things was brushing my teeth and having a wash at the outdoor washing area and catching glimpses of the outdoors in the bathroom mirror and falling asleep in perfect darkness except for the glow from the chiminea in the tipi.
We really enjoyed visiting the local Centre for Alternative Technologies and Chanan and Michael’s wonderful retreat has inspired me to continue making changes in my life towards the natural. We'll be visiting again for a longer stay soon I am sure.

Room Tip: All tipi's and yurts are far apart so you have your own space in different corners of the forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaNan B, Manager at Eco Retreats, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We hope you can come again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband grumbled for the whole week before we arrived here. 'Why have you booked it? (KGB booking) 'It will be a disaster.' 'It's miles from anywhere.' And then we arrived and his jaw dropped. The luxury of space - there were only 4 or 5 tipis spread so far a part that you cannot see another one when you are in place. The bed with its sheepskins, the welcome bottle of wine (keep doing that) the alternative but perfectly acceptable toilet and shower system and most of all the wood burner in the middle. He came over all masculine and started to 'take care of the fire'.
You can walk around the farm, take a look at the very old and broken down farm house (the inside lime walls covered with names and dates - the oldest we saw was 1938) and just sit and listen to the stream and the calls of sheep outside.
This is a break where you have to slow down (it's close to 30 mins to the nearest shop) and so you sit, and and look at the fire, and toast the marshmallows provided.
We didn't take up the reiki or the meditation that I believe was available - not our thing - but the experience was still great.
In the day you can visit the towns around - Aberdovey is a lovely Victorian seaside resort. We were lucky enough to catch the Comedy Festival too (May Day weekend) so there were events going on around the area.
My husband is now raving to all and suggesting they too explore and see to their own wood burner...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allisonowenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaNan B, Manager at Eco Retreats, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and had fun with the fire.
Warm wishes,
Eco Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed in the yurt in April 2012. It was a fantastic break from the manic life we all seem to lead these days. We slept for 13 hours the first night, no mobile phone reception (wonderful) This was our anniversary break so we went out for meals on the Friday and Saturday evening, no one seemed to mind that we were a little muddy and smelt of smoke from the open fire. The centre for alternative technology was very interesting and does a lovely bowl of vegan soup which even true carnivores like me really enjoyed. We walked for miles on the first day past the sheep lambing and up onto the mountain, great views . The welcome tent is well stocked with essentials including wine and marshmallows. We left our children with a babysitter for the weekend and found this a great place to just focus on being a couple again, we would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: A head torch is useful when you want to pop out to the toilet in the middle of the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaNan B, Manager at Eco Retreats, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and your time of getting away from it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
5.6 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,423 reviews
6.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
371 reviews
17.2 mi away
Dinas Caravan Park, Camping & Glamping
9.9 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Retreats

Property: Eco Retreats
Address: Plas Einion, Furnace, Machynlleth SY20 8PG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tipis and yurts in the middle of nowhere ....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Eco Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Retreats Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing