We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Short Break Mid-Wales”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tan y Coed

Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Winter view from the covered deck
Morso Log Burning Stove, all wood provided
Large Comfy L-Shape Sofa
Sheepies
Dining Area with Additional Stools
Bedroom 1 with Kingsize Bed
Bedroom 2 with Full Size Single Beds
Bathroom with WC, Electric Shower and Sink
The Lodge from the Field Below prior to Glass Balustrade
Summer view from the covered deck, 2
Decked Area off the Lounge
View from the Hill at the side of the Lodge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Plentiful Supply of Logs on Deck
Cabin Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joseph W
2 reviews
“Short Break Mid-Wales”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Almost perfect spot for our purposes
View from the lounge a strong reason to return only negative the lights were not strong enough to read by and only one small spotlight to let an individual read not both of us.
Good location to get out and about and we may well return.
Would recommend the Salt Marsh Kitchen for a meal out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattipaul...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GEM OF A PLACE”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Our second time at this lodge and we loved it every bit as much as the first time the view from the balcony is wonderful we saw the red kites and many more birds,
the comfort of the lodge is excellent everything you want is there for you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert A
STOURBRIDGE
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WORTH COMING FOR THE VIEWS ALONE”
Reviewed September 16, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have been staying in Tan-y-Coed for the past week and have to say that everything others have said regarding facilities and comfort is correct.
James has made this cabin into an attractive holiday home and the view alone is worth coming for. We were very entertained by the sheep and the farmer with his dogs rounding them up several times. We discussed what the various reasons might be for taking them into the large shed?
The train on the line down below passes by at certain time, sometimes two cars sometimes four but it is not frequent or obtrusive. It doesn’t operate in the night so no problem The River Dyfi also caused some interest as it rose and fell with the heavy rain and we waited to see if it would overflow its banks. It didn’t but would not have risen as high as the cabin anyway.

However for anyone of more mature years, like us in our 8o’s, I think I should mention a couple of things that are worth considering before you ‘take the plunge’?
First, the entrance. This is up two steps and is rather steep for anyone with limited mobility. This can be a bit awkward and the danger of falling when coming out cannot be dismissed. For anyone of younger years they would skip in and out with even realising. Fortunately we had brought a half step with us having read another reviewers comments. Also the immediate area around the entrance is a muddy puddle when it is raining heavily, could do with some more slate chippings. We had to be careful not to walk in dirt onto the carpets.
Second the seating. Very comfortable, no hesitation in saying that but being rather low it is a problem each time that you arise. Creaking limbs and a few “oohs and aahs”
Third the lighting. We found the lighting rather dim even though there are numerous lights around the cabin. At least one good light in the kitchen area would have been appreciated.
Finally the wood burner. Yes lovely, the heat it gives out is fantastic, in fact for some a bit too warm.
Good fun for young people lighting a fire and watching it blaze and once you get the hang of adjusting the door at the start it is wonderful. Unfortunately for some of us grumpy old people at one time we had no choice but to light fires in our homes and it really was a chore.
Do consider before you come if you really want the bother of lighting fires , you have come for a holiday. I should add that there are efficient electric heaters as well.
Sorry James if I am being over critical we have enjoyed our stay despite the weather and Storm Aileen. You did your best to sort the couple of minor problems that I contacted you about.
We would certainly come again. If you would have us?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFunkyG...
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Cabin. Would Highly Recommend”
Reviewed July 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a week's stay at Tan Y Coed at the end of May and it won't be the last. It is exactly as described by James and as shown in the pictures.

Firstly - the Special Highlights :
1. We had mixed weather but the protected outside decking meant we could still sit out and enjoy the view while being sheltered from the rain. We could have sat doing that all week if we had needed to and not got bored. It is a fabulous view.

2. The view from the lounge area and the decking is brilliant - there is a Heronry directly across from the cabin and it was lovely to see these big birds flying up into the trees. Also viewed bats, sheep with their lambs and a variety of small and not so small birds including a black pheasant

3. The beds and bedding were just out of this world. Most comfortable beds I have slept in for a long time. We used the single beds but the King (5 foot) bed in the main bedroom looked just as comfortable

Secondly :
1. There were lots of little touches which James has thought about to ensure a comfortable stay e.g. there were rugs to wrap round you if you were cold sitting on the decking; tealights for the candle holders; heated towel rails in the bathroom and master bedroom; the wood burning stove was set up and ready for us to go and there were firelighters and plenty of wood to burn if we had wanted to use it. (Sadly we really didn't have the excuse to light it).

2. Considering the compactness of the cabin we were amazed at how much storage space there is with fitted wardrobes in both bedrooms and lots of places to lay things on

3. The cabin is well placed for going out and about with lots of attractions within 30 minutes drive. Machynlleth the main town is only a 5 minute drive away and a couple of minutes will take you down to the nearby hotel and restaurant

Tips and other comments:

1. There is no electric shaving point in the bathroom, so if you use one make sure you take a two pin adapter to put into one of the other sockets in the cabin - there were loads and loads of electric sockets throughout the cabin.

2. There is a very high single step up from the ground to the front door. I have slight Arthritis in both my knees and I managed but it was a bit awkward. If you have difficulty in steps you might want to take a step stool or something to make it less of a climb!

3. Due to the fact that a lot of things were placed at floor level or at toddler sort of height I personally would say this cabin is more suitable for adults and older children (over 5).

5. James is very keen that you have a really comfortable stay here. Please don't hesitate to contact him if you have any problems at all while you are there. We arrived to discover the iron had gone walk-about but we had a replacement within a couple of hours and James was most apologetic, even although it wasn't his fault!

We had a fabulous, cosy stay here and we will be definitely be back. Highly recommend

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JemimaJay
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PERFECT👌🏼 ”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the cabin for the last 3 days of our holiday and it was just perfect, the views from the deck are so beautiful and you feel totally secluded from the world. We used the fire on the first night but it was too warm as we were so lucky with the weather. The beds and the corner sofa are so comfy, it's like a little piece of heaven. We will definitely be back, maybe in winter next time to make use of the cosy front room and beds!! The town is in easy walking distance with a few nice pubs and restaurants, and James has spent time making a list of recommendations and highlights. We really didn't want to leave, I actually had a tear in my eye as we drove away.
Perfect for couples and small families too. All in all the best holiday rental we've stayed in, and that's quite a few!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn S
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a quiet retreat”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This log cabin really has it all. Wood burner with plenty of logs, comfy beds, great shower and very well equipped kitchen. It has the most amazing view from inside or whilst sitting on the private balcony. It is very close to Machynlleth, which is a wonderful town at the southern tip of Snowdonia. Nearby attractions include climbing Cadair Idris (or some of it), great beaches (Borth, Twywn, Ynyslas sand dunes) and friendly, local shops in Machynlleth itself.
I will return to stay here again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing