We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT👌🏼”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tan y Coed

Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Winter view from the covered deck
Morso Log Burning Stove, all wood provided
Large Comfy L-Shape Sofa
Sheepies
Dining Area with Additional Stools
Bedroom 1 with Kingsize Bed
Bedroom 2 with Full Size Single Beds
Bathroom with WC, Electric Shower and Sink
The Lodge from the Field Below prior to Glass Balustrade
Summer view from the covered deck, 2
Decked Area off the Lounge
View from the Hill at the side of the Lodge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Plentiful Supply of Logs on Deck
Cabin Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JemimaJay
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PERFECT👌🏼 ”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the cabin for the last 3 days of our holiday and it was just perfect, the views from the deck are so beautiful and you feel totally secluded from the world. We used the fire on the first night but it was too warm as we were so lucky with the weather. The beds and the corner sofa are so comfy, it's like a little piece of heaven. We will definitely be back, maybe in winter next time to make use of the cosy front room and beds!! The town is in easy walking distance with a few nice pubs and restaurants, and James has spent time making a list of recommendations and highlights. We really didn't want to leave, I actually had a tear in my eye as we drove away.
Perfect for couples and small families too. All in all the best holiday rental we've stayed in, and that's quite a few!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn S
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a quiet retreat”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This log cabin really has it all. Wood burner with plenty of logs, comfy beds, great shower and very well equipped kitchen. It has the most amazing view from inside or whilst sitting on the private balcony. It is very close to Machynlleth, which is a wonderful town at the southern tip of Snowdonia. Nearby attractions include climbing Cadair Idris (or some of it), great beaches (Borth, Twywn, Ynyslas sand dunes) and friendly, local shops in Machynlleth itself.
I will return to stay here again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison K
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a right little gem of a place!”
Reviewed November 26, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a right little gem and we will be going back because of all the effort James has put into making Tan Y Coed really special. Everything works properly, everything looks lovely and the place has a general air of quality about it. This is not just some thrown together holiday place full of old junk, this is a very well created retreat. With it's excellent wood burner and generous supply of logs, this is somewhere to relax, to read, to watch the stars and to sleep very comfortably with the peace a quiet all around. Machynlleth just down the road, plenty of bird life and local walks to be had, James's cabin is somewhere to retreat to at night and lock the world out. Thank you James for seemingly putting such a lot into this cabin, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and the feeling of quality
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The rather small bathroom.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RogerTom1...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic retreat in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic place! We booked this on the strength of the TripAdvisor reviews and we not disappointed.

At the end of a quiet lane and overlooking the Dovey Valley, there was total peace and quiet except for the sheep and sound of the river. We lit the log burner some nights (that that it was really needed!!!), and had our evening dinner on the balcony on others.

Well situated for Aberwystyth, the Vale of Rheidol and South Snowdonia, we're looking forward to returning as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattipaul...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time at this lodge it will not be the last, we loved every minute the view was lovely and the lodge had everything you could wish for the bed was so comfortable and the furnishing was so nice We did not have great weather but it did not matter all l can say is with good weather it would be heaven l would definitely recommend this holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing, very happy with everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth S
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“As wonderful as ever!”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second stay, and the lodge was as lovely as last time. Unfortunately we only had one day of sun,-- òn the other days we had at least several hours of rain. If I could make one complaint, it's about the lighting. It can sometimes be difficult to see what you're doing, and trying to read can be a nightmare Squinting does nothing for my wrinkles!
Overall though Tan y Coed is a wonderful, comfortable place to stay, and I recommend it highly.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing