We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tan y Coed plus teen”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Tan y Coed

Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Cabin Lounge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Summer view from the covered deck
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Lounge with Log Burner overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Winter view from the covered deck
Morso Log Burning Stove, all wood provided
Large Comfy L-Shape Sofa
Sheepies
Dining Area with Additional Stools
Bedroom 1 with Kingsize Bed
Bedroom 2 with Full Size Single Beds
Bathroom with WC, Electric Shower and Sink
The Lodge from the Field Below prior to Glass Balustrade
Summer view from the covered deck, 2
Decked Area off the Lounge
View from the Hill at the side of the Lodge overlooking the Dyfi Valley
Plentiful Supply of Logs on Deck
Cabin Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Machynlleth, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emmsey70
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tan y Coed plus teen”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted somewhere quiet to stay where we'd be close to nature and could bring our collie and this was a great choice. This place had all we needed. The lambs and bird life had us out on the balcony for hours just watching. Log burner was pure joy. We went to Aberystwerth (waterstones for teen books) if we needed shops, although Machynlleth was really close and is lovely too. Ynislas had the most amazing beach and dunes and Aberdovey was our dusk beach walk - just out of the town and on the right we parked in a lay-by, crossed the railway and the dunes and the beach was gorgeous. Teen had phone and DVDs to keep her busy but enjoyed mountain walks around the Corris area too. It was so lovely in the cabin I shed a few tears when we left!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke G
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Wanted to move in”
Reviewed February 6, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Amazing little cabin in what feels like the middle of nowhere but is only a mile from the main town. I couldn't recommend highly enough just to get away from it all, (no phone signal which was great hardly touched our phones for 3 days which was nice) there were other cabins around the site but it felt like we were the only ones there.

The town its self has some nice little shops and some nice little pubs, there are great restaurants around the area that you will have to drive to but well worth it travel, a word of warning though try to book as early as possible because they fill up very quickly, we managed to get in late at a loverly little fish restaurant in Aberdovey called the SeaBreeze very nice and a fantastic drive along the coast.

Me and my partner will be going back without a doubt we loved every minute of our stay and James was very helpful and kept in contact to inform us of everything he could. Would have loved to have stayed longer if we could have.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner and the location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPondd
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Came here with my husband, son and his girlfriend. Great views, amazing service and super value for money. Next time I'm bringing the dogs!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeWixey
1 review
“Great Place, Great location!”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have had a fantastic stay at Tan y Coed, beautiful cabin in a lovely location.
The cabin is cosy with lovely decor and very well equipped with everything you need. Perfect for our family of four plus dog.
In a great location near Machynlleth town I would definitely recommend Tan Y Coed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma J
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cabin was amazing the views breathtaking and the small touches in the cabin just made it so homely. Well defo be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocund
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good as previous reviews”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This cabin has a number of thoughtful touches with quality furnishings and clean. The view of course is great - all lovely and peaceful. Hope to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikey P
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second home in the country”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I took myself and my girlfriend here so we had a mini holiday before she goes off to uni, as we pulled up outside we knew we'd booked the right place to stay. Absolutely fantastic cabin with a view to go with it. Would recommend having a walk down to the river, theres a nice stoney beach at the other end of the field. I would not hesitate to recommend this cabin and I've already had family friends ask me about it. James was very helpful when we text him and I've got to say thank you to him for renting out such an amazing property. It was so nice coming back to it to cook dinner and have a couple of drinks on the porch after being out all day. Only downside was the lack of internet (And phone signal) but I suppose it was actually a plus when you think of it as a romantic "get away from everything" holiday/

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing