We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable Treehouse experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living-Room Treehouses
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked a 3 night stay for my hubby's 50th, he'd always said he'd like to stay in a treehouse & boy,we weren't dissapointed. My 18 & 15 year old son weren't going to miss out on this trip and it's been a great opportunity to reconnect & share proper family time without technology. On walking into "Gwdy Hw" on arrival we all stood there saying WOW! The treehouse is an incredible structure, spacious but cozy & so warm. The log burner provides the hot water for washing up & the outdoor shower....something else! Its such a quiet, magical experience & i loved waking up to the sound of lambs & woodpeckers. All the supplies you need including an endless supply of logs & candles! We managed a hike up Cader Idris during our stay. We are hoping to make this an annual family get together, I would love to see the carpet of bluebells in full bloom next time.Thank you for the memories.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoneseyJJ69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Living-Room Treehouses
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 184 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have just spent an amazing 3 nights staying in "Penny" with our two children aged 12 and 10. The children's first comments were "Wow!" and their opinion did not change.
The beautifully designed and made treehouse gave us a unique and wonderful stay. The wood burner provides loads of warmth and hot water for the brilliant shower.
The kids played amongst the forest, on the swing rope and up the mountain behind the magical house. A picnic on the hill was fabulous with jaw drooping views and even jets flying below us through the valley.
Take enough food and drink as we didn't want to leave - one of the best holiday experiences we have had.

Room Tip: "Penny" has a great double bed and bunks for the kids. It is right at the top of the wood...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ribstuesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We came to stay for 2 nights in March 2013 and stayed in 'Timmy'. There were 6 of us, but as the children are young (aged 5, 6, 7 & 1) Three of them could fit easily in the double bed with ease, another child on the top bunk and adults stayed on bottom bunk and living room bed/sofa. It was an amazing break away from modern day distractions and we absolutely will be going back one day. Really comfortable and cosy - so warm even though it was chilly outside. Loads of exploring done and happy family memories made. The lack of traffic noise was great, standing outside on the bridge in the pitch black listening to silence with the gorgeous smell of fresh air - fab. Hot running water, cooking facilities and beautiful candlelit evenings by the fire. The buildings are built wonderfully, really attractive and lots of details adding to a homely feel. Amazing piece of building/engineering work. To be honest, didn't want to come home! Thank you to Living-Room Treehouses and Mark for such a great break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at the tree house booked via Virgin and I have to say we were so impressed we can't wait to go again! This is truly an amazing and magical experience and we are already looking to go back! The tree house is so cosy and clean and it is perfect for those wanting to escape from the rat run for a while although we only stayed to two nights we both felt very relaxed and happy when we left we can definitely recommend Bethan for a massage, based in the local town she comes out to the tree house and does a lovely treatment!
Mark is a wonderful host, very helpful and accommodating nothing seems too much trouble!
The shower is an amazing experience although outside it is very well designed meaning you still have some privacy.
There are several tree houses although they are spaced so far apart we didn't see any other guests so very private, whilst we went as a couple I would also image that his would be a great holiday for kids who would love exploring the woods!
Before we left we planned lots of day trips around the surrounding area however you don't really need to leave the tree house a tip would be to bring plenty lf food and drink and chill out!
Don't be fooled the design and build of these tree houses means that they are very cosy and warm whatever the time of year we didn't need all the extra jumpers, scarves, hats etc pack light!
We had a walk from the car park area to our treehouse through a lovely green sheep filled field with lots of lambs skipping around! Although steepish on the way up it is manageable and no trouble.
Local town Machynlleth is worth a visit very small but has all one could need for a few days and lots of interesting antique type shops as well as an amazingly good value pizzeria!
Over all we cannot wait to go back and are not surprised that Mark gets booked up so far ahead.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cashaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

this has to be the best thing ive ever done, we are soo gutted it got cut short with family problems.
We arrived at about 3pm and were met by Mark (who you will mostly talk too) we almost ran him over tbh which was embarrassing lol.
We were shown to our treehouse by Julia and she gave us some great advice lthough i will say DO NOT WALK TO THE PUB its bloody far in the dark although would be fine during the day i imagine.
We arrived to our tree house and were staying in the furthest one away from the farm, seclusion was garunteed.
We arrived and straight away were gob smacked, the treehouses are incredibloy beautiful and idyllic.
We settled in too find a most comfortable bed, a cozy home and a phenommenal balcony.
This stay has stuck in my mind and has been the only thing i can think about recently, we will certainly stay again and would recommend it to ANYONE

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawson2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My Wife and I visited the tree houses, Machynlleth in Nov 2012, it was truly a great experience and was well worth the money that it costs, the fact that you are so high in the trees and that you have to make your own entertainment was great to get away and relax from our busy lives at home.

Staff were amazing and i cannot fault this place, it was strange using a toilet outside above the ground (i say toilet, hole in a tree).

also great valleys to walk in to which we were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of two fighter jets flying between two massive valleys.

well worth going, we will be planning a trip there towards the end of the year if not next year

Room Tip: i loved Timmy, he was the best tree house in my opinion
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous weekend. Despite damp weather we had a great time. The treehouse was warm and cosy throughout our stay, and we made simple meals on the gas rings and toast in front of the woodburning stove.
The location is simply superb, and Peter (who designs and builds the treehouses) helped us across the wet field and up the hill with our luggage.
Enjoyed an open air shower in the rain, the rope swing, playing Monopoly and card games and a lack of phone and internet access (although Vodafone worked quite well).
We will certainly return and highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Let them know the ages of the kids and they will assign a suitable property.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikey8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
6.1 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
102 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Penrhos Arms
Penrhos Arms
#6 of 11 in Machynlleth
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Trewythen Lodges
Trewythen Lodges
#2 of 5 in Llanidloes
222 reviews
10.1 mi away
Plas Talgarth Holiday Resort
9.0 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living-Room Treehouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living-Room Treehouses

Address: Bryn Meurig Farm | Cemmaes, Machynlleth SY20 9PZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Machynlleth
Price Range: $217 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Remote treehouses in hidden valley on the edge of the Snowdonia National Park in Wales. There are six individual treehouses, each in its own natural environment ... offering romantic accommodation for couples, and a magical experience for families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living-Room Treehouses Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing