We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous relaxing stay.”
Review of Plas Dolguog Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Set in several acres of gorgeous grounds, affording wonderful views of the Dyvi valley, this hotel was the perfect stress-buster. I had work a long stretch of very long days before going to a wedding reception here & staying the night (last night, 10/08/'13). The service was friendly but professional & we felt most welcome on arrival. The room (number 17 in the annexe) was comfy & cozy with a lounge/refreshment area, bathroom/loo with lovely roomy shower, very comfortable beds & pleasant decor. The tables were laid out so beautifully for the reception, & the service was exemplary. The food was excellent, especially my goat's cheese, spinach & pine nut tartlet, & the beef looked succulent, tasting as good as it looked, said the folk who had it. The breakfast was superb, offering a good selection. I chose orange juice, yogurt, cooked breakfast (sausage, bacon, mushrooms, baked beans, fried egg), toast & jam & coffee. I wish I'd had time to explore more of the grounds, particularly the sensory garden, but I intend to return to be able to do this. The cost for the room, breakfast, beautiful grounds & attentive service was £42.75. Great value! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, feeling more mellow than I have for ages! Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keithcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Plas Dolguog Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 103 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, Friday 5th & Saturday 6th July in annexe room No 16, which was clean and bright with an excellent powerful shower with constant hot water. Shower gel, shampoo and soaps were provided and large sized bath towels.
The sitting/dressing area was a bonus, with a well equipped hospitality tray including ground coffee and a cafetiere.
We made use of the patio area, enjoying early morning coffee and an evening aperitif in the glorious sunshine while listening to the birdsong.
I ordered herb crusted rack of lamb in a rosemary jus for dinner which was cooked to perfection by Anthony Rhodes and my husband enjoyed a succulent chicken breast filled with Welsh cheese and leeks, wrapped in bacon. Both arrived with a good selection of freshly cooked vegetables.
Breakfast was a real treat with items from the buffet followed by a traditional breakfast with good quality ingredients, again perfectly cooked.
You couldn't wish to meet a nicer family who own and manage the hotel along with their friendly smiling staff.
A walk through the most uplifting and inspirational 'Grandma's Garden' was a wonderfully spiritual experience - stopping to read the beautiful poetry written by Diana Rhodes, the Lady of the house, who designed the garden.
I feel quite sad for the reviewers who failed to find the beauty, warmth, peace and tranquility that was plentiful in Plas Dolguog, if only they had looked a little deeper.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyJeanAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in the Annex (room 16). The main reception wasn't open and you go through an old entrance instead - not sure why the main entrance, clearly newly done wasn't in use.
Person on reception was polite and friendly, as were all the staff we saw.
As said, we had a room in the Annex, which consisted of a bedroom area, bathroom and a sort of seating area. We also had a patio.
The room was tired and dated but a decent size. The furniture was cheap looking and all a bit mismatched. There was a musty smell to the room that we couldn't place. The carpet could have done with a clean. The bed was fine and we both slept well.
Our room was next to stairs so lots of noise every time someone was going up and down them and lot of noise from the room upstairs where it was very clear when someone was walking around.
The bathroom was absolutely tiny. If you aren't stick thin it would be difficult to move about in there. There was a WC, sink and shower, the shower being under the sloping ceiling so tall people (like me) would struggle a bit in there. Shower a bit grubby and the finish a bit haphazard. Could do with some TLC. I struggled with a cold shower until I realised that you had to switch on a hot water switch before you got any hot water. I also shared my shower with about 7 spiders and there were many more in the bathroom; also lots of cobwebs.
In fact, I've never stayed in a room with so many cobwebs and spiders (about 23 before I couldn't be bothered counting anymore). They had clearly not just arrived, the cobwebs were large and across whole sections of wall, ceiling and skirting board and had obviously been there a long time; the room cannot have been dusted for weeks based on what we saw. We did it ourselves! - we cleaned every wall, ceiling corner and skirting board so that we didn't have to share the room with so many cobwebs and spiders. I appreciate we were in the countryside and you can expect a few insects but there's no excuse for basic cleanliness in a hotel room. An arachnophobe's worst nightmare!
The patio would have been a nice touch but it was literally a small path really and then a bit of grass where a load of loose bricks had been left so a bit of an oddity really.
Breakfast was good - a range of cereals and cooked breakfast options. The best bit of the stay really.
This could be a really nice hotel. It certainly has lovely grounds and a lot of potential but it's currently quite tired and more attention to detail needed, particularly when charging £85/night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clementine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed Earlier this year. This hotel has at first glance lots going for it: set in beautiful countryside and gardens near the town (a steep 25 min walk, or a 10 min taxi) the building itself is a secluded and rambling 17th-century inn. The strangely modernised main entrance (some flimsy automatic doors hardly add to the old world charm, or feel particularly necessary) is clean and inviting, as well as the well maintained bar with its great old fireplace. Breakfast - proper fry up, cereals, etc. - was also served in a light, modern conservatory. The problem here is the rooms: like stepping back in time, but 1980 rather than 1680. A symphony of mismatched chintz and swirling floral patterns, awkward bits of plywood furniture, and a carpeted bathroom with the kind of nauseously coloured suite you expect to see in reruns of 70s sitcoms. The door to the room didn't fit the frame and needed to be slammed to shut it (the cheap lock wasn't much cop). Preserving the character and integrity of an old building is difficult, but there's no excuse - especially given the conspicuous modernisation elsewhere - not to at least keep the rooms up the standard you expect from 90 quid a night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently stayed at Pal Dolguog and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I read the other reviews before we booked and I would replace the word old with character. It is not a plastic atmospheric less modern hotel but one which has its own image and style suitable for a relaxing stay. We stayed in room number 8 which was a large 3 bed family room which was fabulously laid out with comfortable beds and riverside views. The only one small negative was a low water pressure which meant I had to wait for the bath to fill, but given the view it was not exactly a chore...! Breakfast was perfect and plentiful and we were welcomed by wonderful staff. Will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erbistock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here with colleagues recently. Great hotel, very impressed with the vegetarian food. Hotel is old set in beautiful grounds and has quirky rooms. The hotel didn't have many staff and we stayed during the sad disappearance of April so there was a real unease at this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This Hotel is set in a beautiful location with great views of the Dyfi Valley. 2 mins from the Market town of Machynlleth and Short drive away from picturesque seaside village of Aberdyfi.
The Gardens are well maintained, very relaxing to walk around.

The Main entrance to the hotel (pictured on the Website) with the Automatic doors with inviting reception area is closed up with sign saying please use other entrance. Why waste this new area?

The decor is in need of serious update (excluding the back room which opens out into the gardens and bar) It’s is extremely old fashioned, carpet is awful and furniture needs replacing to bring this hotel into the 21st century.

We had room 3 on the first floor of the main building. I understand this hotel is old and full of history however this is not an excuse.

Firstly the door handle to the room was hanging of the screws were loose, not a good start.
The room was small, but clean! The decor again outdated, old fashioned.

The bathroom had blue old fixtures and fittings, no shower barely enough room to stand up let alone use the area. Noticed there were also cobwebs in the corners. The bath, sink and Toilet were also clean.
The one and only good point to this room was the balcony which opened up to a nice patio above the rear function/dining room. However the step up and out to the balcony had loose wood planks which were unsafe and wobbly and the outside furniture needs replacing.
Staff are great and helpfull at all times. Bar is well stocked with good range of drinks and spirts.

Most of the hotel is well worthy of its 3* status however little bits let this down, modern touches to rooms and some down stairs areas will make a significant difference.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.9 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
155 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
14.6 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
9.7 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#4 of 11 in Machynlleth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dolguog Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dolguog Hotel

Address: Felingerrig, Machynlleth SY20 8UJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Machynlleth
Price Range: $114 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Dolguog Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resembling a nature reserve in miniature. Many bedrooms offer balconies overlooking the Dyfi Valley and hotel gardens. Ground floor and family rooms available - dogs welcome. All bedrooms are individually furnished and offer everything you need to feel completely at home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plas Dolguog Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dolguog Hotel Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing