We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food!”
Review of Number Twenty One

Number Twenty One
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food was very good and the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The menu had a good range of choice and was well priced. I would definitely recommend giving this restaurant a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 163AndrewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    50
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a lovely meal here by accident! The restaurant we wanted to visit was full so went here and had a great meal, lovely ambiance and knowledgeable staff. Will definitely go again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If only this place could be rolled out as a chain!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Found this by chance and ate two nights in a row.
The food was fantastic, not piles but left you feeling well fed and content. As always quality food over large quantities of mediocre grub wins hands down.
The staff were chirpy and had a laugh with us whilst being professional and made us feel at home and accommodated our every whim.
Sadly not a chain as that would take away the uniqueness of this place, but certainly the main reason to return to Mach!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Waupley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“expecting too much?”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had lunch here based on the excellent reviews. Maybe I was expecting too much. We both had the 'ploughman's'. Very nicely served but only 2 thin pieces of bread and the smallest amount of butter I have ever seem. My husband is over 6 foot and was through his bread before half his ham and cheese... so we had to order more bread (at £2 for another 3 slices....). The food was well served and the cheese and home made pickle very good but even I didn't have enough bread to finish my cheese. So with a cup of tea we paid £21 which on the whole was quite a bit for a ploughman's. Oh yes and the loo's are outside...I'm glad it wasn't raining.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suki360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch at Number Twenty One”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Wonderful Sunday Lunch. We called in without prior booking, although they were fully booked they found us a table, explained that the table was booked from 1.30pm but that they were more than happy to fit us in as it was only 12.00pm. Food wonderful, lovely friendly Service, would hightly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number Twenty One also viewed

 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to Number Twenty One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing