We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Plas Dolguog

Plas Dolguog
Ranked #20 of 31 Restaurants in Machynlleth
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A real hidden gem. I thought I knew this area, but found Grandma's Garden on the internet. Curiosity got the better of me. Beautiful gardens well worth the contribution. And finished off with what must be one of the best cream teas I've eaten. The view from the patio and conservatory is magnificent. Two functions on this afternoon but still excellent service, and the buffet looked fantastic. We'll be back for a full meal in the not too distant future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiteman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Christmas Day at the Plas Dolguog”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Can't fault the meal this Christmas Day at the Plas, we had a real nice day. The welcome was really nice and staff and owners went out of their way to make the day enjoyable. I believe we had Seven courses in all, so by the time we had the Christmas pudding we where stuffed. You expect to pay little more for Xmas day but well worth the money.
We have been before for meals and can't fault the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lang4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great value, great food, great hospitality and great atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

An amazing find. Walking upto hotel the views and scenery where amazing. The hotel looked Fantastic. Especially when you walk into the restaurant the views outside were stunning and inside it was bright and spacious tastefully decorated. All the staff made our family feel welcome and were friendly. They provided an excellent service. The food was outstanding. Spoilt for choice. Excellent value for money. We had drinks outside where there was plenty to do for all the family from a play area to the extensive grounds. We went round Grandma's gardens which was amazing to. We had such a great experience we wanted to share it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DTJTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and made sunday reservations without reading reviews first, we had a great surprise, the place is wonderful. The staff are professional and provide a great service, they are discreet and unintrusive whilst being warm, freindly and efficient and that is a rare skill. You don't feel rushed, the food is exquisitely cooked. We have been back several times. The restaurant is situatued in an extension with big glass windows and doors overlooking the gardens and Cambrian mountains, there is a place for children to play (and they are beautifully accommodating of children and engage with them which makes them feel welcome too).
There are no negatives, it's an established well run hotel, with excellent facilities for large gatherings, weddings and parties.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Need to turn up the thermostat”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was at Plas Dolguog for post-funeral refreshments, sandwiches, cakes and the like which were fine. The problem was the low level of heat. During the couple of hours we were there the majority of people kept their coats on because it was cold.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plas Dolguog also viewed

Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
 
Machynlleth, Powys
Machynlleth, Powys
 

Been to Plas Dolguog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing