We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and unique”
Review of Glandyfi Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Machynlleth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glandyfi Castle
Ranked #1 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing and unique”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Peter and Maureen have created a place which is truly magical. The castle is set in the most beautiful grounds with breathtaking views across the dyfi estuary. We stayed in the room named nightingale, exquisite. We were staying at the castle to partake in a medieval banquet. The food was amazing and the company warm and friendly. Breakfast the following day was again perfect. Please pay it a visit we will certainly be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mjhorsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
75
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a wonderful way to celebrate a special birthday; Maureen, Pete, Tabbie and Sidney all worked so hard to ensure everything was perfect for my son's 30th birthday. The banquet was superb; each course a culinary treat, washed down with frothing cider and mead. The setting delightful; the service exemplary; altogether wonderful. I can't wait t return

Room Tip: A the rooms are so unique; they all have their special charm but Osprey is particularly gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llawnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Glandyfi is beautiful and grand but Maureen and Pete's hospitality is very down to earth. Despite the top-notch surroundings and gorgeous decor the atmosphere is very homely and relaxed. We were looked after extremely well and the food was out of this world, plus the view from the garden is hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jv90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Surely there cant be a hotel in Wales that has more spectacular views than Glandyfi Castle. The Hotel has been completely and sympathetically refurbished and is exceptionally comfortable. The food is delicious (I am vegetarian and always had an extensive choice). The owners, Maureen and Pete could not be more helpful and are a constant source of good humor, good sense and interesting information. Their small daschund "Sydney" is actually in charge of the entire hotel and will be on patrol to ensure you are safe at all times! There are extensive gardens - over 40 acres, which I did not had a chance to explore but hope to do so on my next visit. This is a relaxing haven.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caracal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I were married on the 11/05/2013 at the National Library of Wales and held our reception at Glandyfi Castle. We hired the castle for exclusive use and accommodated most of our guests overnight. The castle is beautifully restored and exudes romance and is the perfect place to celebrate with family and friends or as a couple. All our guests fell in love with the castle and allowed them to 'pretend' that it was theirs for the duration of their stay. Maureen was more than a host, she was a guardian angel! She decorated the atrium with flowers from the garden and basically worked some magic that enabled us to have the wedding of our dreams. As for Pete, well he literally gave his shirt off his back (as the father of the bride forgot his!). The Castle is of course wonderful but the real stars are Maureen Pete and Tabi as it just wouldn't be Glandfyi Castle without them

Room Tip: Rooms are very individually decorated and priced so there is something for most pockets Splashing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at Glandyfi Castle for a night in April 2013, and it was fantastic. My room was gorgeous with a lovely view out over the castle gardens, and the views from the diningroom etc out over the estuary are absolutely beautiful - and if you're really lucky you might get the full 360 view from the turret! When I think castle I think cold and drafty, but this is warm and toasty and inviting, and feels like a lovely home, and we got given tea and scones on arrival. Will definitely visit Glandyfi again if I get back to Wales from New Zealand!

As a side note, I do recommend contacting them ahead of time if you want a room - we turned up on the day and got a room, but apparently this was quite unusual for them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toogoolawah, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Glandyfi Castle in early December 2012, sorry for the long delay with my review. It has been months now since our trip. We travelled through the UK, Ireland and France over a 6 week period and our stay with Peter and Maureen, Tabi and Sydney was the highlight. The Castle itself is "to die for". Hospitality, conversation and food just wonderful. The views from the castle are amazing and I captured an amazing double rainbow photo from the turret above our room, which by the way was Nightingale. If we get back over to Wales from Australia we will definitely be visiting Glandyfi again. Would love to catch up with you all again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
4.9 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
98 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
53 reviews
4.5 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdyfi (Aberdovey)
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
252 reviews
4.2 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
147 reviews
14.5 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 12 in Machynlleth
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glandyfi Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glandyfi Castle

Property: Glandyfi Castle
Address: Glandyfi, Machynlleth SY20 8SS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glandyfi Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glandyfi Castle is a regency gothic listed building with Dramatic views overlooking the Dovey estuary and RSPB bird reserve in Mid-Wales. The Castle is set in 45 acres of woodland and gardens, only 10 minutes from the sandy beaches. Aberdovey golf course is a 30 minute drive, and only 15 minutes from Aberystwyth. There is a direct rail link from London, via Birmingham and guests can be collected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glandyfi Castle Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing