We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smashing experience”

Ynys Hir Wildlife Reserve
Ranked #3 of 12 things to do in Machynlleth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A smashing experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were inspired to visit Ynys Hir after seeing it on Springwatch. When we arrived we were greeted by a very helpful young lady on reception who informed us that a supervised walk was leaving at 2pm. We decided that was for us and met up with Roger our RSPB guide - he was very informative and we had an enjoyable 2 1/2 hour walk round the reserve stopping periodically to listen to Roger's amusing stories. It was a very windy day so not many birds about but we were thrilled to see two Redstarts. Roger also showed us the tractor shed which was used as the Springwatch Studio and we saw two Egrets from that famous window.
The bird hide was very interesting too and we could have sat there all day watching the ducks and geese - and I was lucky to see a Skylark! We shall definately go again and next time take a picnic - there are some lovely picnic tables with a fabulous view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    28
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Worth Visiting”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Of course we were enticed to visit here after watching spring watch !
Its a lovely place with many different environments & lots of different birds to see.
We were lucky enough to go on a guided tour so we now have a good idea of where things are.
Enjoyed the visit so much we will be going back again & we even joined the RSPB.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“expected better”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely reserve. Poor cafe, no food cafe available. No baby changing facilites. Expected better from high profile reserve.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The reserve had been on our 'to do' list for sometime .An opportunity to combine a spring watch tour with the visit prompted us to visit this week. We were not disappointed! The staff were lovely both on the phone whilst booking tickets and on our arrival. The volunteer that took us around was passionate about birds and wildlife in general.
Michaela and Chris came to talk to us during a break in filming - Thankyou.
We can now also appreciate the time and effort that goes into live filming in remote locations.
The reserve itself was left unspoilt by the miles of cabling and we enjoyed a wonderful day of birds and wildlife. Idyllic! We will be returning soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful and magical places in Britian”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This RSPB nature reserve is one of my favourite places in Britian. It is such a magical and beautiful place with ancient woodland, old walls covered in moss and ivy, grassland, marsh and estury. Great for wildlife watching or just for a magical walk. It is a very special place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CinnabarMoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ynys Hir Wildlife Reserve also viewed

 
Derwenlas, Machynlleth
 

Been to Ynys Hir Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing