We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maenllwyd Guest House
Ranked #5 of 12 Machynlleth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ok place to stay”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had to stay somewhere that would take dogs, which this guesthouse did. However on arrival I was struggling with two bags and a puppy. The owner did take my bags for me, but only once he was most of the way up one flight of stairs - it would have been nice if it had been automatic! That aside, he was very welcoming and his breakfast was lovely. The room was adequate but I decided to skip using the shower in the morning ( I couldn't work out anyway how to get hot water out of the shower anyway!) Not sure if he's only just taken this place over, but it could definitely do with an overhaul and a lick of paint. It has potential to be lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    24
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
47
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

When we arrived at 4.00 pm owners not around, but didn't have to wait long and Gareth apologised for not being there. Stayed here for one night whilst travelling onwards. Room and breakfast was ok but nothing to shout about. Host friendly. Some of the furniture was a little shabby along with bathroom. The downside was the shower curtain which was covered in black mould along the bottom, which put me off a little, but otherwise clean. Don't understand how there are so many rave reviews. At £65.00 per night it was ok but not brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treborCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great place, great people. Doing solo cycling trip and arrived very tired. Room very nice, garage for the bike. Asked if I could borrow some pegs to hang my kit up once I'd hand washed it and it was put through the washing machine and tumble dryer and delivered back to me. Helpfully pointed me in the direction of good food in the town. Breakfast was plentiful with a good choice and freshly cooked. Would recommend wholeheartedly

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ittliw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheringham
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Machynlleth is not the most well known spot in Welsh tourism but it has lots to offer and the Maenllwyd b and b is a jewel in the crown. Located on the upper end of the main street, it's handy and accessible and has secure rear parking. Our twin bedded room was smallish and well appointed but the breakfast was truly excellent, with a cooked to order theme.
The host makes you feel immediately at home and all in all I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back of the b and b
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailSheringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for a night in May. Stayed in room 5 with lovely character beams. Warm welcome and a hearty breakfast! Ample parking and only a five minute walk to town centre.
Would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We like going to British b & bs, having stayed in about 8 in the last year - every one was a unique and, on the whole, very pleasant stay. We enjoyed our 4 nights at Maenllywd Guest House - for example mid-Wales is a lovely area, being in Machynlleth town suited us (the market on Wednesday is great), we received a warm welcome and had some good breakfast-time chats.

Our bedroom was nicely decorated and comfortable, if a little small. The breakfasts were quite good but nothing more than we expect and didn't match up to several we have had in the last year.

Parts of the guest house need attention. The entrance (at the rear) is really shabby and the woodwork in hallway and on the stairs could do with redecorating. There was a serious plumbing problem in our bathroom that defeated Gareth's efforts to fix it - this was clearly not a new problem. The huge rear garden is wasted - why not a table and chairs and perhaps even some shrubs dotted around.

Taking everthing into account, I believe Maenllwyd Guest House is 'Average' - I am very surprised that 50% of reviewers rate it as 'Excellent'.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob66R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night in July on a biking trip across wales.

When we arrived, there was no one in as we were a bit ahead of schedule, but they showed up really fast.

We parked our bikes in the garage and were shown our room. the room was average, the bathroom was old, and cracked; the tiles on the floor was loose, and toilet acted up at times.

The rest was good, good breakfast and a pleasant host

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNorwegianExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machynlleth
0.6 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Lion Hotel
White Lion Hotel
#3 of 3 in Machynlleth
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
Ynyshir Restaurant and Rooms
#1 of 1 in Eglwys Fach
258 reviews
9.8 mi away
Brigands Inn
Brigands Inn
#3 of 12 in Machynlleth
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 12 in Machynlleth
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenllwyd Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenllwyd Guest House

Property: Maenllwyd Guest House
Address: Maenllwyd Newtown Road, Machynlleth SY20 8EY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Machynlleth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Machynlleth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maenllwyd Guest House is situated in the historic market town of Machynlleth, in the heart of the Dyfi Valley. Gareth and Jane have run the guest house since 2009 and have refurbished the bedrooms, breakfast room, stairs and reception hallway and plan to start on the en-suite shower/bathrooms in 2016. It offers 7 en-suite rooms all with Freeview TV, free Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities plus complimentary toiletries and freshly laundered towels. A good choice of cooked and continental breakfasts are available for all our guests or we offer a room only option if requested. There is free off road parking and a large garden with recently added decking area for guests to enjoy the sun! To welcome you on your day of arrival you can enjoy a complimentary hot chocolate & biscuits. So what ever your reason for visiting Machynlleth and the surrounding area we hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maenllwyd Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenllwyd Guest House Machynlleth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing